205 brake update
  • Register
  • Help

Default 205 brake update

Does anyone have any thoughts on updating my 1987 s1 205 gti front brakes for something better than standard and any thoughts on converting my rear drum brakes to discs . all i hope with the mininimum of fuss.any aftermerket whole brake set ups that will fit?
    any multi pot brake calipers that anyone knows of that will fit
    .anybody tried ebc slotted and dimpled discs on their 205 gti's?
    .am i right thinking that someone put 406 or 306 brakes all round?thanks for your thoughts -BAZZ [email protected] froggy site or 0418126691

Advertisement

I have been using EBC greenstuff on my race car now for 2 years and have found they are fantastic. They did develop a bit of vibration last ime out at eastern creek but found that a bit of wet and dry sort the issue out. I have just installed the EBC slotted rototrs but have yet to race with them.

On my previous 205 I used DBA slotted with greenstuff and had no problems.

I dont believe you need an upgrade with an 8v, you might want to consider a willwood setup if you are pushing out 200hp +.

I am still running the drums at the back and wish I had less braking power at the back. Dont bothr with rear discs. You will only lock them up more.

BTW: The DBA ctalogue is incorrect, they list the same rotor for s1 to s3 cars, which is correct for UK produced cars. But in Australia the S1 and S2 cars had 1.6gti running gear. EBC are the only one that carry 1.6gti discs.
    90 205 Gti Cherry Red(Track Car)
    2009 207gti
    1985 505gti (Shitbox Rally) Sold

PBs:

Oran Park: 1:27:9
    Wakefield: 1:05.6 (July 2015)
    Eastern Creek: 1:54 (8v) 1:48 (16V)
    Mt Huntley: 34.44 (2004 stock 205)
    Ringwood: 35.06 (30/10/2005)
    Winton: 1:33.6 (2017)

Quote Originally Posted by bazgti