Electronic speed sensor output and pinout.
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Fellow Frogger! racing405's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Traralgon
    Posts
    645

    Default Electronic speed sensor output and pinout.

    I have a recollection that this topic had been discussed before but I cannot find the thread. Can someone share the detail again? Looking to get a speed reference onto a new dash from the original gearbox speed sensor, 306, BE3/5 etc.

    Advertisement
    racing 405
    1:59:09 last time at Phillip Island - less than standard Mi16.

  2. #2
    1000+ Posts PeterT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Castle Hill, Sydney
    Posts
    7,426

    Default

    I've got one, but what's the question?

    '92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

  3. #3
    Fellow Frogger! racing405's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Traralgon
    Posts
    645

    Default

    Question is, what does the signal from the speed sensor look like so I can configure the input correctly.

  4. #4
    Fellow Frogger! racing405's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Traralgon
    Posts
    645

    Default

    Found it.

  5. #5
    1000+ Posts PeterT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Castle Hill, Sydney
    Posts
    7,426

    Default

    Please share. I was going to put one in the lathe and hook up an oscilloscope.

    '92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

  6. #6
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    18,719

    Default

    If it's to the standard of most industrial sensors the output will be an open collector NPN transistor.

    Ie Switches low whilst sensing .

  7. #7
    1000+ Posts PeterT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Castle Hill, Sydney
    Posts
    7,426

    Default

    Yes, but how many pulses per revolution is the real question.

    '92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

  8. #8
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    18,719

    Default

    Battery drill or lathe to ascertain that and a DSO as you suggested.

    As least you now a pull up resistor will be needed. (unless it is an inductive pick up)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •