205 clutch disc job , need help please
  • Register
  • Help

Default 205 clutch disc job , need help please

I have a 205 1.8 diesel, i might need to replace the clutch and thrust bearing. I have never done a transverse engine before , UK and american yes , what do i need to do, engine in out or what please.
    Can someone give me a run down on what tools etc and the procedure and how heavy is the gearbox, will i need a hoist. Will i need to support the engine.
    Never done a transverse before .
    Is there a you tube of this ?.

Advertisement

Default 205 clutch disc job , need help please

Hi,
    There are a few guides out on the web, it can be done with engine in however some do take the lot out. This link is for some useful guides on doing the job with engine in.

https://www.205gtidrivers.com/articl...ox-drivetrain/

Iíve just completed this and many others here also have done this job so any specific questions you have should be easily answered on this thread once youíve had a look through the guides.
    cheers
    Craig

Thanks mate, just need to do homework first before grabbing a tool.

If you are only doing clutch, leave the engine in. If you are taking the opportunity to do timing belt and water pump at the same time, take it out - you'll lose less knuckle skin.

In a nutshell.
    Disconnect the battery, you'll be messing with the starter motor.
    Jacked up and on chassis stands good and secure because you're going to laying under the front of this thing for a while.
    Both drive shafts out - special tools decent impact gun and nut to suit the nuts on the drive shafts + ball joint tool.
    You will also need a deep 11mm socket to release the intermediate bearing on the long shaft. Along with the 11mm you either need a 90 degree pneumatic ratchet or a heap of extensions to get a ratchet far enough away so you can swing it. Punch the lower ball joint and steering tierod end off the hub to make it easier to get the axle out.