205 electrical issue question
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 11 of 11
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By PeterT
  • 1 Post By flock

Thread: 205 electrical issue question

  1. #1
    1000+ Posts Isis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,100

    Default 205 electrical issue question

    I put in a sneaky kill switch to cut off the (white) fuel pump wire on my GTI. The problem is that the car will not start even with the switch is turned on.

    My pen sensor lights up on the destination end of wire but wonder if the wire is now not transmitting 'enough' voltage and that somehow my additional wire or switch had introduced resistance? Is there such a possibility or is this a binary, on or off only situation?

    ta

    Advertisement
    S3 205 GTI x 4 and getting lower
    1998 S1 Lotus Elise
    2013 Fiesta ST
    2014 Audi SQ5

  2. #2
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,642

    Default

    Connections to said switch how are they made and what sort of switch are you using? Have you tried to turn it on with ignition off, turn key and listen for pump?
    87 S1 205 GTI / GTI6 powered a project underway
    306 convertible (gti6 candidate)
    307 HDi wagon
    407 HDi wagon

  3. #3
    1000+ Posts Isis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,100

    Default

    Yeah, cant say I can hear the pump working but admit I am not used to noticing it anyway.

    I am using a toggle switch and the right gauge of wire. I set the same thing up to 2 other of my cars with no problem, so this is a surprise. Perhaps my switch is different.
    S3 205 GTI x 4 and getting lower
    1998 S1 Lotus Elise
    2013 Fiesta ST
    2014 Audi SQ5

  4. #4
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    18,432

    Default

    Join the wires to the switch together and try again.

  5. #5
    1000+ Posts CEyssens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Berwick VIC AUS
    Posts
    1,044

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by robmac View Post
    Join the wires to the switch together and try again.
    Yes bypass the switch and also test the switch's conductivity with a multimeter to make sure it isn't faulty.

  6. #6
    1000+ Posts Isis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,100

    Default

    thanks you guys.
    S3 205 GTI x 4 and getting lower
    1998 S1 Lotus Elise
    2013 Fiesta ST
    2014 Audi SQ5

  7. #7
    1000+ Posts PeterT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Castle Hill, Sydney
    Posts
    7,414

    Default

    The pump is going to pull close to 5A. So if you used a dodgy small switch it may not be able to handle the current. That's why the pump is switched by a relay. You're better to cut the low current side of the relay.
    CEyssens likes this.

    '92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

  8. #8
    Fellow Frogger! flock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    181

    Default

    I'm sure you may already know but just in case if the switch has 3 contacts, NC, NO and Common. Make sure you haven't just connected between NC and NO.

    Sent from my E6653 using aussiefrogs mobile app
    robmac likes this.

  9. #9
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    18,432

    Default

    You missed the lottery.

    Any combination of connections, as long as the common was connected, would have worked

    Buy yourself a multi meter, invaluable when sussing out switch connections.

  10. #10
    1000+ Posts Isis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,100

    Default

    Thanks. I did that logical thing of connecting my two end wires to bypass the switch and bingo, no problems. Switch was from supercheap so I guess you get what you pay for....
    S3 205 GTI x 4 and getting lower
    1998 S1 Lotus Elise
    2013 Fiesta ST
    2014 Audi SQ5

  11. #11
    1000+ Posts CEyssens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Berwick VIC AUS
    Posts
    1,044

    Default 205 electrical issue question

    Quote Originally Posted by Isis View Post
    Thanks. I did that logical thing of connecting my two end wires to bypass the switch and bingo, no problems. Switch was from supercheap so I guess you get what you pay for....
    Good checking... also check Peter's post, it's important to cut off the relay switch wire not the main supply that takes current to the pump

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •