2004 Megane Front Indicator not working - quick fix
  • Help
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: 2004 Megane Front Indicator not working - quick fix

IWS

Icon7 2004 Megane Front Indicator not working - quick fix

Daughter arrived in her (2004) Megane today saying "Daddy, the indicators are being silly ..."

Inspection revealed back indicator working - front not.

Hmmm, have changed the headlight bulbs a few times and that is a real pain. Jack up car, remove front wheel to get decent access ... Wondered if it was the same procedure for the inidcators.

Off to Google - found this post

He/she said:

"I'm a Renault mechanic and have done this many times and it is a terrible design... lock your steering out left or right depending on which side is blown you will see a removable cover which you might need a screwdriver to pop off..now this is tricky and make sure you take off your watch or your arm will get stuck put your hand up and feel around for a flat plastic leg about an inch long this is the holder that the bulb sits into then screws into the lamp most of the time the bulb isn't blown its just this holder comes loose so turn on your indicators and twist the holder to tighten it and they more than likely will start working again as this closes the contacts between the bulb and the lamp.."

And so indeed it was! Wheel did not need to come off. Access good enough with the wheel on (and on hard lock) to remove the cover and re-seat the bulb. Now working!

Thought I would share this here - for other Megane owners who might not have discovered this tip

Advertisement

Ian.

I had to take off the whole bumper and headlight assembly to change an indicator globe in our Megane 2 (facelift model) - that globe holder wouldn't clear a bit of the car's frame.

My globe wasnt blown either, but it was the globe-holder contacts that needed wiggling... A lot of work on a cold dark winter's evening just to clean some contacts!!