EW10J4RS build - Page 3
  • Register
  • Help
Page 3 of 3 First 123
Results 51 to 72 of 72
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: EW10J4RS build

  1. #51
    Fellow Frogger! Bluey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    570

    Default

    Have you wired the shield to B16?

    Advertisement

  2. #52
    Fellow Frogger! Brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    594

    Default

    Motec loom so I assume they would have, but will need to check
    Bathurst______2 57.22 Sandown_______1 35.29
    Mallala_______1 22.90 Phillip Island____1 56.41
    Winton_______1.43.90 Collingrove_______38.08
    The Bend_____2 21.96

    https://www.facebook.com/FrogstompRacing/

    http://www.harlandeng.com.au

  3. #53
    Fellow Frogger! Bluey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    570

    Default

    And why is your cam signal voltage over 8V? Makes no sense. Almost seems like the cam reference voltage has been wired off the same wires as the coil 12V+. It doesn't matter whether the loom is MoTeC or not, the person wiring it still has to do it correctly.

    (Ignore that. Didn't see this mornings graphs before posting.)

    Even post a pic of the wiring of the coils & cam sensor.
    Last edited by Bluey; 6th June 2018 at 01:57 PM.

  4. #54
    1000+ Posts PeterT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Castle Hill, Sydney
    Posts
    7,214

    Default

    The cam reference is 8V, isn't it? ie 20-12=8

    I'm not sure adding the pull up resistor will make any difference in your case. ie you have a definite 0-8V square wave, it's just the interference which needs to be removed.
    thatguy likes this.

    '92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

  5. #55
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,338

    Default

    Use a shielded cable earthed (grounded) at one end only to prevent earth loops. Peters technique of going over gearbox moves it away from interference source.

    Or am I completely wrong as usual?

    Thanks, I read above Bluey is saying the same as he is asking him to put the shield to pin B16 or whatever. Shield, coaxial, ground, earth gotta love engineering and its terms and acronyms.
    Last edited by Matthew; 6th June 2018 at 07:39 PM.
    FIVEDOOR and PeterT like this.
    87 S1 205 GTI / GTI6 powered a project underway

  6. #56
    Fellow Frogger! Brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    594

    Default

    Rerouted cable no change
    We checked at the sensor and spikes are in the 8v supply
    Bathurst______2 57.22 Sandown_______1 35.29
    Mallala_______1 22.90 Phillip Island____1 56.41
    Winton_______1.43.90 Collingrove_______38.08
    The Bend_____2 21.96

    https://www.facebook.com/FrogstompRacing/

    http://www.harlandeng.com.au

  7. #57
    Fellow Frogger! Brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    594

    Default

    Spikes aren't affecting sync so it is running well.
    EW10J4RS build-dyno-curve1.jpg
    FIVEDOOR likes this.
    Bathurst______2 57.22 Sandown_______1 35.29
    Mallala_______1 22.90 Phillip Island____1 56.41
    Winton_______1.43.90 Collingrove_______38.08
    The Bend_____2 21.96

    https://www.facebook.com/FrogstompRacing/

    http://www.harlandeng.com.au

  8. #58
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,338

    Default

    OK, how high are the spikes and what is supplying the 8V, my recommendation is to fit a good quality electrolytic cap to smooth out these spikes and make you a happy camper.

    Alternatively if they are extremely quick spikes then a bypass cap wiill suffice, same problem is found when feeding IC's.
    Last edited by Matthew; 7th June 2018 at 06:03 PM. Reason: Spelling
    87 S1 205 GTI / GTI6 powered a project underway

  9. #59
    Fellow Frogger! Bluey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    570

    Default

    129.2Kw! That's more like it.

    Out of interest, what ignition module & coils are you running?

  10. #60
    Fellow Frogger! Brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    594

    Default

    LS1 coil packs
    Bathurst______2 57.22 Sandown_______1 35.29
    Mallala_______1 22.90 Phillip Island____1 56.41
    Winton_______1.43.90 Collingrove_______38.08
    The Bend_____2 21.96

    https://www.facebook.com/FrogstompRacing/

    http://www.harlandeng.com.au

  11. #61
    Fellow Frogger! Brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    594

    Default

    Next problem to solve is oil accumulation and over flow of catch can.
    EW10J4RS build-228dcd93-b483-4a0d-a7a6-238197ff62e5.jpg
    Bathurst______2 57.22 Sandown_______1 35.29
    Mallala_______1 22.90 Phillip Island____1 56.41
    Winton_______1.43.90 Collingrove_______38.08
    The Bend_____2 21.96

    https://www.facebook.com/FrogstompRacing/

    http://www.harlandeng.com.au

  12. #62
    Fellow Frogger! Bluey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    570

    Default

    Does the EW10J4S have a vacuum pump?

  13. #63
    Fellow Frogger! Brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    594

    Default

    Electric pump but it is currently removed from the car.
    Bathurst______2 57.22 Sandown_______1 35.29
    Mallala_______1 22.90 Phillip Island____1 56.41
    Winton_______1.43.90 Collingrove_______38.08
    The Bend_____2 21.96

    https://www.facebook.com/FrogstompRacing/

    http://www.harlandeng.com.au

  14. #64
    Fellow Frogger! Bluey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    570

    Default

    Well, if you don't have an uncapped mechanical vacuum pump pressurising the sump then the only other source of pressure can come from the combustion chamber, i.e. blowby.

    Make sure you aren't running the oil level above the dipstick. I wouldn't be running a drainback catch can on a race car. You shouldn't need to drain back any oil vapour from the cam covers.

  15. #65
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    803

    Default

    Where is the vacuum pump on the stock engine? I didn't think there was one.

    Point remains there is plenty of blow by pressure building up.
    206 GTi 180 - Cat Cams, Remapped Group N ECU, AST Camber Tops & Coilovers, -2deg fixed camber hubs by Frogstomp Racing, 24mm Torsion Bars, AP Racing brakes, Yokohama A050, PeugeotSport Baffled Sump, Powerflex Engine Mounts & Bushings, Setrab Oil cooler, Quaife diff, Velo seats.

    Sandown - 1:31.5
    Winton - 1:45.6
    Phillip Island - 1:58.4
    Nürburgring - 10:23.ish (Fiesta ST)

    Previously, 2x 504 Wagon, 505 Wagon, 505 STi, 405.

  16. #66
    Fellow Frogger! Brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    594

    Default

    Vacuum pump is mounted in front of lefthand side front wheel
    Bathurst______2 57.22 Sandown_______1 35.29
    Mallala_______1 22.90 Phillip Island____1 56.41
    Winton_______1.43.90 Collingrove_______38.08
    The Bend_____2 21.96

    https://www.facebook.com/FrogstompRacing/

    http://www.harlandeng.com.au

  17. #67
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    803

    Default

    I thought that was an air injection, not vacuum pump. An emissions helper for cold start?
    206 GTi 180 - Cat Cams, Remapped Group N ECU, AST Camber Tops & Coilovers, -2deg fixed camber hubs by Frogstomp Racing, 24mm Torsion Bars, AP Racing brakes, Yokohama A050, PeugeotSport Baffled Sump, Powerflex Engine Mounts & Bushings, Setrab Oil cooler, Quaife diff, Velo seats.

    Sandown - 1:31.5
    Winton - 1:45.6
    Phillip Island - 1:58.4
    Nürburgring - 10:23.ish (Fiesta ST)

    Previously, 2x 504 Wagon, 505 Wagon, 505 STi, 405.

  18. #68
    1000+ Posts PeterT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Castle Hill, Sydney
    Posts
    7,214

    Default

    Many years ago on my first 205 track car, I thought I could plumb the oil breather system better than Peugeot. At the dyno it filled the 1L catch can. I found a 3L pineapple juice tin which I thought would improve things, but it too soon filled up. I went back to the standard setup and just ran a breather off the filler cap. Never had another problem.

    I'm not suggesting your car has the same issue, but given the broad and good power band it has, I doubt it has blow-by issues.

    '92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

  19. #69
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    607

    Default

    I had to get my catch can to drain back to the sump. Only way it worked

  20. #70
    Fellow Frogger! Brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    594

    Default

    Having spent the morning examining the stuffed head and standard intake manifold several discoveries have been made.
    What I thought were the front cam cover drains, aren't drains but sump breathers.
    These vent via standard manifold and don't drain oil from head.
    These vents have been blocked by the TB's installation. TB's to be removed, drilled and tapped to add 8mm vent tubes.
    The lack of sump venting is causing additional back pressure on oil on the three exhaust side drains.
    Bathurst______2 57.22 Sandown_______1 35.29
    Mallala_______1 22.90 Phillip Island____1 56.41
    Winton_______1.43.90 Collingrove_______38.08
    The Bend_____2 21.96

    https://www.facebook.com/FrogstompRacing/

    http://www.harlandeng.com.au

  21. #71
    Fellow Frogger! Brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    594

    Default

    Emailed to the throttle body supplier and got this back

    This engine is a little odd on the breather system. We have another customer racing who has vented these ports, thinking it would cure the problem but still collects loads of oil. He’s rigged up a 2 catch can system where the first one returns to the drain at the sump. It also doesn’t help that the breather at the sump is submerged to the bottom pickup area. The dry sump will of course eliminate all of these woes.
    Bathurst______2 57.22 Sandown_______1 35.29
    Mallala_______1 22.90 Phillip Island____1 56.41
    Winton_______1.43.90 Collingrove_______38.08
    The Bend_____2 21.96

    https://www.facebook.com/FrogstompRacing/

    http://www.harlandeng.com.au

  22. #72
    Fellow Frogger! Bluey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    570

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Brett View Post
    .....The dry sump will of course eliminate all of these woes.
    Well, that was a crap response.

    2 catch can setup makes sense though. It would be the same as what 205s & 405s have with their remote filler setup. The first can is basically a swirl pot while the second collects all the vapour. First can would need baffles to separate the oil properly. Only the second can would have to be 2L to comply with CAMS regs.

Page 3 of 3 First 123

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •