Rim-Tyre sizes and failures
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    1000+ Posts

Default Rim-Tyre sizes and failures

Looking to upgrade my rims & tyres, but have been warned not to go to 17's as i'll risk side wall failure...

Please post up:

Rim Size:
    Tyre Profile:
    Tyre PSI:
    Number of Side Wall Failures:
    Number of Damaged Rims:

please try to keep this thread "clean" of unnecessary chit-chat so i can tally it all up!

cheers

Advertisement

I reckon you'll have sidewall failures, and the handling willbe compromised.

You want stats or people's opinions? Seems a funny way to go about justifying your desire to get 17s on your Clio.

With very few people on here with 17s, you're probably going to get 5 responses.

For a car the size of a Cliosport, I reckon 15" wheels are nigh on perfect. Keep in mind though that I have no idea what I'm talking about. I have no real-world experience and have limited social skills. I don't easily fall into the fashion-driven stereotype that would go for oversized wheels.

You have to weigh up the following negatives;

* Rotational weight increase (makes you slower, affects braking)
    * Unsprung weight increase (your struts have to work harder to settle wheel oscillations, on a hard drive your dampers will get bloody hot and not be as effective. Will also decrease life of dampers and other suspension components)
    * Initial cost
    * Ongoing cost (good tyres cost heaps more)
    * Possible insurance impact
    * Congratulations, you now own a visibly modified car. Say hello to changed attitudes from other motorists. Oh, yeah.....the cops too.

In a nutshell, if you appreciate driving then you'll go out and spend good money on nice rubber. The standard wheels are round, strong, light and do the job. If you like Oxford Street, go and get the big round shiny things and soak it all up.