205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak
  • Help
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Fellow Frogger! Aprilia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Rosebud Vic.
    Posts
    175

    Default 205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak

    Hello all
    finally drove the 87 Gti today, now has the DKZ engine, loom and motronic with 4 speed Auto trans.
    Starts easily, idles and rides nicely with the Eibachs and Yellow Konies on soft setting, after a 2km test drive I noticed a fast dripping trans fluid leak " flywheel photo ". I had replaced the diff and main seals, purchased from a bearing supplier, by cross referencing numbers or dimmensions for the main "leaking seal", ( the euro parts sellers couldn't find a listing for them). Before I pull the trans I noticed a plug that I haven't connected, could it have anything to do with the leak or is it maybe just a switch to restrict starting to N or P., also the fluid level when hot is about 5mm above the max level on the dip stick.
    Thanks Doug

    Advertisement



    205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-canon-october-2012-538.jpg205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-img_0959.jpg205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-img_0958.jpg205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-canon-october-2012-551.jpg205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-canon-october-2012-550.jpg
    Last edited by Aprilia; 11th February 2013 at 10:31 PM.

  2. #2
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    628

    Default

    Driveshaft seals are the same as the manual gearbox ones.

    If it was me I would buy the seal on the torque converter from peugeot. When I do the manual boxes I always use a factory seal on the input shaft. All other aftermarket ones I have tried leak. Only a guess but feel this maybe the same.

    You will like the auto, they outrun a manual car to about 100 Km/h
    Adrian Wuillemin

  3. #3
    Fellow Frogger! Aprilia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Rosebud Vic.
    Posts
    175

    Default

    205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-canon-october-2012-635.jpgHello Adrian we spoke (on line) a while back, you had done this conversion for your sister. I had a bad feeling about this seal because it was hard to find, well I will give Peugeot a call.
    But yes it felt pretty peppy, the seats in it were trashed so I dropped in a pair of recaros from a mid 80s turbo Diahatsu, perfect fit, very comfortable and good forward tilt.
    Thanks for the info Doug

  4. #4
    1000+ Posts 504-504-504's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Far North Queensland
    Posts
    1,494

    Default

    Looks like an interesting conversion Doug.
    My auto Si is up for engine and auto box oil change tomorrow so I will see if I can find what that plug is for.

    Adrian I would be interested in your comments please on the suitability and durability of the ZF auto for use in motor sport.
    I'm mainly interested in sprints and kahana cross so off the line performance not so crtitical.
    Guess it wouldn't be much use for gymkanas with the need to pause between first and reverse.

    Thanks
    Paul.

  5. #5
    Fellow Frogger! Aprilia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Rosebud Vic.
    Posts
    175

    Default

    Hello Paul
    the conversion was easy once I had sourced the parts the S3 loom took a while. I also dropped in power steering from an Si while the engine bay was empty, so it is a very easy car to drive. I have named my engine installation style " the walking the plank method " I had the engine and trans on a work bench on castors and it seemed to be the easiest way to get it over the engine bay.
    Doug
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-canon-october-2012-610.jpg   205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-canon-october-2012-615.jpg   205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-canon-october-2012-621.jpg   205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-canon-october-2012-545.jpg   205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-img_0963.jpg  
    Last edited by Aprilia; 12th February 2013 at 10:21 AM.

  6. #6
    VIP Sponsor
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    9,356

    Default

    There is a 205 Si auto amongst the growing band of motorsport Sis in the PCCV.
    It seemed to go well in the dirt motorkhana at Ballarat a week ago.
    Actually got quickest time in the first test.
    Graham

    Quote Originally Posted by 504-504-504 View Post
    Looks like an interesting conversion Doug.
    My auto Si is up for engine and auto box oil change tomorrow so I will see if I can find what that plug is for.

    Adrian I would be interested in your comments please on the suitability and durability of the ZF auto for use in motor sport.
    I'm mainly interested in sprints and kahana cross so off the line performance not so crtitical.
    Guess it wouldn't be much use for gymkanas with the need to pause between first and reverse.

    Thanks
    Paul.

  7. #7
    Fellow Frogger! Aprilia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Rosebud Vic.
    Posts
    175

    Default

    Hello Graham I would be interested in that event, my trans fluid leak would also keep the dust down for the other competitors.
    Doug

  8. #8
    VIP Sponsor
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    9,356

    Default

    That event will happen again in 2014, plenty of others in the meantime though.
    Maybe you need to join PCCV?
    Graham

    Quote Originally Posted by Aprilia View Post
    Hello Graham I would be interested in that event, my trans fluid leak would also keep the dust down for the other competitors.
    Doug

  9. #9
    Fellow Frogger! Aprilia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Rosebud Vic.
    Posts
    175

    Default Is a 205 GTI top strut plate the same on the 306 ?

    Hello all I've had a busy week,
    Pulled the Auto trans and replaced the main seal $24 at European Auto Imports, engine runs with no leak. ( messy job )
    Also removed my front suspension and replaced with stock S3 GTi suspension, I was a little heavy handed and snapped 2 top strut bolts so I'm looking for a 205 top plate or does the 306 strut top fit ?
    Tonight I will attempt to adjusting the rear suspension to the stock height and install the stock S3 rear shocks.
    I thought I would try the stock suspension that I pulled from a S3 with 155,000km and if its good then great, if not I will put my yellow konies all round and see how that feels.
    Doug
    P.S. I have more wood than car stands.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-img_0969.jpg   205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-img_0971.jpg   205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-img_0979.jpg   205 GTi Auto running but with trans fluid leak-img_0978.jpg  
    Last edited by Aprilia; 18th February 2013 at 09:00 PM.

  10. #10
    1000+ Posts schlitzaugen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    loneliness capital of the world
    Posts
    9,163

    Default

    Don't be too hard on yourself. Those crappy little studs snap way too easily. I snapped them too when I took off the old strut tops. If you're bogged down, I would suggest first trying to check if they're only pressed in (can't remember) and you might be able to replace them. If they are welded, I guess you could drill them out and just use a normal bolt (they're 7mm from memory). If you're not happy with either of those, just buy the top strut kit and replace (your mounts might be buggered anyway). The kit comes with the top plate and bearing too and some other hardware.
    Last edited by schlitzaugen; 19th February 2013 at 11:20 AM.
    ACHTUNG ALLES LOOKENPEEPERS

    Das computermachine is nicht fur gefingerpoken und mittengrabben. Ist easy schnappen der springenwerk, blowenfusen und poppencorken mit spitssparken. Ist nicht fur gewerken bei das dummkopfen. Das rubbernecken sightseeren keepen hands in das pockets-relaxen und watch das blinkenlights.

  11. #11
    1000+ Posts 504-504-504's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Far North Queensland
    Posts
    1,494

    Default

    Doug you could get real fancy and fit a setof these, not cheap though.
    Adjustable Castor, Camber top strut mounts.

    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/230885514...84.m1423.l2649

    Paul.

  12. #12
    Fellow Frogger! Aprilia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Rosebud Vic.
    Posts
    175

    Default

    I think for now I will drill out and replace the bolts.
    The adjustables do look spiffy, but then the added cost of a clear perspex bonnet to show them off.
    Doug

  13. #13
    VIP Sponsor
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    9,356

    Default

    Also, you need to buy a top mounting to go with these and not sure how much adjustement you get if you don't run coil overs.
    The house sold, so the removal job will be on in earnest, let me know when you want to come and get the auto box.
    Graham

    Quote Originally Posted by Aprilia View Post
    I think for now I will drill out and replace the bolts.
    The adjustables do look spiffy, but then the added cost of a clear perspex bonnet to show them off.
    Doug

  14. #14
    Fellow Frogger! deltone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    390

    Default

    Hey Aprilia, i am thinking of doing an Auto conversion on my CTI. Whats involved in terms of hardware?
    does the gearbox have its own ECU?
    205 GTi T16

    205 CTi

  15. #15
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    628

    Default

    No ECU.

    You will need the gear lever parts of an auto si.

    I got all the parts when I did my sisters car off a jap import 1.9 auto. It had a smaller throttle body than the manual version
    Adrian Wuillemin

  16. #16
    Fellow Frogger! deltone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    390

    Default

    I would chase an auto Si so that i could take all that i need off it, im thinking that that would be the best way to do this!

    what would happen to the idle speed of the manual motor i have? Would i need to increase the idle speed?

    How about installimg a quaife diff? Can that be done on an auto box?
    205 GTi T16

    205 CTi

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •