Xantia

Ren25

Fellow Frogger
Hi all,
New to this forum, as have just picked up a '95 Xantia, in what appears to be immaculate condition, 117k's.
I'm new to cits but have had Renaults for years, still got my much loved 25.
What do I need to panic about with the Xantia?
How long should the suspension stay "up" after you switch off?
What does it mean if the oil level light takes a while to go off?
Incidentally the car is my girlfriends.
and, and......
Thanks
Mike

Ren25 said:
Hi all,
New to this forum, as have just picked up a '95 Xantia, in what appears to be immaculate condition, 117k's.
I'm new to cits but have had Renaults for years, still got my much loved 25.
What do I need to panic about with the Xantia?
How long should the suspension stay "up" after you switch off?
What does it mean if the oil level light takes a while to go off?
Incidentally the car is my girlfriends.
and, and......
Thanks
Mike

Is it a Xantia VSX or SX. The SX will drop over time. the VSX will drop (much less though). The VSX has anti-sink valves. It will eventually sink, but usually stop up for a couple of days (marginal sinking aside).

If it's a VSX it will take a bit for the hydraulic pressure light to extinguish as it only has 2 cylinders of the pump devoted to lift the suspension.

I'd just do some general maitenance:

--change the cambelt
--check the pressure of ALL the spheres (not just the suspension spheres).
--change all the fluids ... ie: LHM, engine oil, gearbox oil, coolant etc...

seeya,
Shane L.

I've got one the same model with approx 220K klms on it and it goes like it did the day it came out of the showroom.
Fantastic car that gives the impression it will go forever.

As Shane says, change all the oils and if it's an auto, get the ATF changed ASAP if in any doubt as to what has been used in it. (refer here for full story on that.)