R8 restoration project
  • Register
  • Help
    Fellow Frogger!

Default R8 restoration project

Now that I have been working on my R8 (Gordini replica) for about 12 months I guess it's time to share some pics and history.I briefly touched on the cars past when Damien Gardner posted the "anyone know what happened to this R8" a while back. I first had this car back in the late 70's and using Damiens donor car transfered everything into a later shell. I then managed to pick up some Gordini bits from the guys at Sale (ex Bob Watson/Collier car, which ended up in the tip! The boys pranged the car,stripped it,built another rally car and dumped the remains! After getting the car more or less the way I wanted it I then sold it to Russell McKenzie in Ballarat who had it for 20 odd years until I twisted his arm to let me have it back in 2010.
    The current status is it has been completely dissmantled to the last nut and bolt, minor rust repairs Tig welded ...it really is in good nick apart from having to make up a new RH sill. The shell has been finished in PPG 2 pak 418 blue. I have also made extensive use of PPC Coatings products for all the smaller bits. It is now slowly going back together. I have a R5 Alpine head and bits from Steve Swan and also the 16TS gearbox conversion parts and big uni's. Not sure if I'll tackle the box, I have plenty of engine experience but gearboxes none. So there it is , never be a true G but it will be as close as you can get with the twin shock back end ,G springs, steering rack and dash. Also have some neat Alpine copy 5 spokes from Image in the uk .more pics to follow, Cheers Brian Turner

Advertisement
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails R8 restoration project-p1050199.jpg   R8 restoration project-p1050860.jpg   R8 restoration project-p1060081.jpg   R8 restoration project-p1060147.jpg   R8 restoration project-p1060844.jpg  

Hi Brian,