How to find an R8 Gordini?
  • Register
  • Help
    Tadpole

Default How to find an R8 Gordini?

I am a newbie here, and probably a very naive one! I would love to find an R8 Gordini in reasonable condition!

Now I know they are probably as scarce as hen's teeth, and everybody here is also looking for one, or has one and won't part with it at any price!

I have had 7 Renaults in my time, starting with an R8 1100 (I bought it new, I think in 1965), which is still my favourite. As well as the original R8, I have had another R8, a 750, two R12's (including a station-wagon), a 16, and a 16TS (my second-favourite).

Nowadays, we need the more practical alternative of a Prado, for those caravan trips around Oz, however I would really love to acquire an R8 Gordini, for sentimental reasons, same as most of you, I guess.

Anyway, now that you have stopped ROFL, any helpful advice?

Thanks

Rick

Advertisement

They probably come on the open market every five years or so, either by auction or sale through the media (Carsales, forums et etc). In between there are the word of mouth sales, which is how I got my car 18 odd years ago, when I wasnít really looking for one. Which seems to be how I find cars, they find me, then I get attached.