Buying an R4, hypothetically...
  • Register
  • Help
    1000+ Posts

Default Buying an R4, hypothetically...

Let's say I wanted an R4 - even a late one - what would be the best source?

I'm not sure how much longer I can put up with the boring competence of the Mi16...

Stuey

Advertisement

2003 PEUGEOT 206 GTi

Fellow Frogger!

Don't Citroen make something like this with two cylinders missing?

Graelin

1000+ Posts

I wouldn't even consider one of those unless I was an egg farmer....although if I were, at least I might have the egg timer needed to measure its performance.

Anyway, I'd be too scared I'd get punched out by a Chevy driver if I said Deux Chevaux.

Stuey

2003 PEUGEOT 206 GTi

This is a tough one really. Get a bad one and they would be horrid!

The early Australian cars, like mine really are fun. But 90% of them have terminal rust in the chassis rails, to fix requires serious overcapitalisation.

My pick would be to keep a lookout for a mid 1970's private import, there are a surprising number around (yeah OK, not on every street corner but...). These are the ones with the later square edged grille. The reason for this is that they utilise the later gearbox, what I call the "flat top" four speed, these also have the later type and more common driveshaft that is still available. The lack of driveshafts for the very cars is the biggest bugbear, as the recond replacements are frankly, rubbish. The original steel BED outer joints cannot be rebuilt, if the car has the later cast BED joints, that were the pieces d'origine Renault replacements in the 1970's, these are much more reliable, but are seemingly NLA.

Anything pre 1989 (to enable import) R4 sourced from the UK would likely have a deal of rust bug included, unless it had been kept by some insane enthusiast. Any mid 1970's model already here from the UK would likely have missed out, or the rust would be pretty obvious. Also there are a number of ex South Africa cars out there too.