The Fuego dilema
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Administrator

Default The Fuego dilema

Been thinking recently about replacing the trusty Fuego with something newer, perhaps next year.

I was thinking along the lines of Megane 2.0 3 Door or 225.

Problem is I had this sneaking suspicion in the back of my mind that when push came to shove, I might not be able to get rid of the Fuego, I've had it for 6 years, know the chassis like it is an extension of my arm and have found it damn near bullet proof...

So I started thinking about why I wanted to get rid of the Fuego and most of my reasoning centered around the materialistic principle of 'wanting something new'...

The problem is, I was a mechanic in a former life and as such preform all of my own servicing and maintenance (something I wouldn't be able to do on a new car with a warranty).

This is not a big issue whilst in warranty, but when your 3 years are up, I'd imagine that a Megane or similar would make a Fuego feel like a Tractor to work on in comparison (not to mention the higher parts prices). Do I then trade it in on another new car with warranty?

I did some quick calculations and if I spent $35K on a Megane 3 door (or similar), it would require about $1000 a year for servicing (I do 30K a year)

And would be worth about 20-25K in three years as a trade in with 100+K on the clock....

Therefore, if I was to trade in every three years I would be paying close to 5K a year to maintain a warranty

In return for that 5K, I would admittedly be getting a car that is a safer (I've never crashed a car but I suppose it's a consideration) sightly more fuel efficient but one that handles no better than my current car...

I kinda feel like I'd be buying a new car just for the sake of it...

35K would build a damn nice Shed...

Advertisement

Am I the only person to break down the mechanics of purchasing a new car?

Is it basically just a materialistic purchase for most?