New Dauphine owner in U.S.
  • Help

Default New Dauphine owner in U.S.

Hey everyone,

Advertisement

Not only am I a new owner, I'm also new to Aussiefrogs. If I start boring everyone with my fundamental questions, please tell me or direct me to where I can find answers. I just recently purchased a 1963 Dauphine Deluxe that has been sitting in Arizona for quite a while. The dessert was kind to it & other than the floors is basically rust free. I've since gutted the interior & am going to take it down to the shell. My first basic stumbling block are the doors & how to remove them. It appears the hinges are welded in place & the doors are attached with roll pins as pivots. Quarters are quite tight which makes it difficult to drive out the roll pins. Is there a special tool or would I be better off fabricating a tool myself?

Thanks,
    Scott

p.s. I will be out of town the next few days so I might not respond right away.

Fellow Frogger!

Default Door pins

Hi and welcolm to Af

As a fellow Dauphine owner yes they are hard to get off.

I belive there was a special tool for this and that the top one had to be pushed out from the bottom and upwards

I am off to a club meeting tonight so will see if anyone can shed light on this.

I know I tried and failed with my old one in Tassie but I had limited time due to only being there for a couple of days.

Graelin

Graelin,

Thanks, I look forward to hearing what you find out.

Scott

The special tool I've never seen. Then again you never know what ends up on Ebay nowadays.