Hi I'm new here - just wondering if anyone could help me?
  • Help
    Tadpole

Default Hi I'm new here - just wondering if anyone could help me?

Hi all, I'm a newbie here. My name is Simon Allen and i have an R5 campus. It's currently a 1.1 but i have bought it in the hope of making it quicker without a turbo. Basically i plan to fit a 1.8 16v engine from a clio/renault 19 etc etc.
    As i understand it the block casting will fit directly onto a 1.7 monaco gearbox? Does this then mean that it is just a case of re-wiring the loom to fit the engine? or is there anything else i need to consider? any clearance problems etc?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated and i apologise for the first thread being a technical one.
    Thanks in advance,
    Simon

Advertisement

This one is going to be tricky to answer on this forum, as the Superfive was never sold in Australia, and this is a predominantly Australian forum.

I'd suggest that at least the bellhousing would need to be changed on the gearbox, as the C motor is a different block from the later alloy F series motor even then the gearing would likely to be too low in the 1.1 litre gearbox. As there were some Superfive models fitted with the F series motor, it would probably be easier to obtain a front cut from one of those cars for the conversion and all the necessary mounts and brackets.

Probably try a UK performance or Renault forum. as I know the conversion has been done but am not aware of the various ins and outs.

Simon I also agree with Simon (boy does that sound odd) and suggest the UK forums - Renault has a technical forum where you can "ask the experts" from Renault UK (will need to sign up first as a member but it's free - http://www.renaultsport.co.uk/community/ ) and you could also try the Renault Sports Club - the forums are free but if you want to join the club proper and really participate in the forums there is a fee [I think it's £20] - http://www.renaultsportsclub.co.uk