front engine mount fuego
  • Help
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member timk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    ADELAIDE
    Posts
    52

    Icon10 front engine mount fuego

    hi everyone can i please have some help with my front mount on the fuego. i have changed the front mount only to have it snap again in two days. are there any tricks to get it centralised so it doesnt brake. do i need to centralise the other mounts or loosen them and jack up motor gearbox combo, i just dont want to make the same mistake and have to get a third unit regards tim kelly

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Moderator vivid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    parallel 43 south
    Posts
    1,900

    Default

    Hi Tim,

    Same, my new one broke about a week after I got a rwc for it. I'd say every Fuego owner has replaced them.

    I don't think there is much you can do besides adding a mount on the back of the gearbox.

    There should be some posts on some modifications some of the aussiefroggers have made to try and solve this problem.

    I was driving my fuego on a broken front mount years since it broke 1 week from new.
    Powered by high grade French plutonium.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    mistareno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,926

    Default

    If you do a search on this topic you may find the photos Kenfuego took of the mount I fabricated (in about 30 minutes) for my Fuego.

    FWIW it has been on the car for about 4 years including some motorsport activities and is still fine. In that same time I have never broken any other mount nor do I get the excessive axle tramp many other owners on AF seem to complain about.

    If you have the tools, it would proabvly cost you about $30 in parts.

    You should be able to see from the photos how it all works.

  4. #4
    Member timk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    ADELAIDE
    Posts
    52

    Default part no for mount

    [
    thanks for all that info,can you remember the part no for the link you bought from ken and does it matter that it isnt bolted from the top as the photos only show a bolt through the bottom , perhaps this is my problem as i put a nut on the top and bottom thread of the mount thanks tim k


    can QUOTE=mistareno]If you do a search on this topic you may find the photos Kenfuego took of the mount I fabricated (in about 30 minutes) for my Fuego.

    FWIW it has been on the car for about 4 years including some motorsport activities and is still fine. In that same time I have never broken any other mount nor do I get the excessive axle tramp many other owners on AF seem to complain about.

    If you have the tools, it would proabvly cost you about $30 in parts.

    You should be able to see from the photos how it all works.[/QUOTE]

  5. #5
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Melbourne Victoria
    Posts
    12,588

    Default Fuego fabricated front mount pictures

    Quote Originally Posted by mistareno
    If you do a search on this topic you may find the photos Kenfuego took of the mount I fabricated (in about 30 minutes) for my Fuego.

    FWIW it has been on the car for about 4 years including some motorsport activities and is still fine. In that same time I have never broken any other mount nor do I get the excessive axle tramp many other owners on AF seem to complain about.

    If you have the tools, it would proabvly cost you about $30 in parts.

    You should be able to see from the photos how it all works.

    Hopefully I can re-post the pictures of the front mount Richard Fabricated.

    I tried but it just tells me that I have already uploaded them in the Fuego engine mounts thread - thread search should access them.

    Link to Previous Thread

    Fuego engine mounts

    Click below for Photograph of fabricated parts on Richards Fuego

    http://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/att...achmentid=2589

    http://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/att...achmentid=2590



    Ken.
    Last edited by Kenfuego; 26th April 2005 at 07:44 PM. Reason: add link to photo

  6. #6
    1000+ Posts jo proffi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    8,481

    Default

    A few weeks ago I removed my uprated front mount in preparation for the power steering pump that will occupy its space.

    That was a mistake.

    In spite of the newly fabricated passengers side mount whose load is now vertical and putting the mount purely into compression at test, the front mount is sadly missed.

    I'm now getting axle tramp on wheel spin, which i never got before with my super mount and crappy PS mount

    Whilst I will continue to call it a front mount, it is not really an elegant description.
    Front/side mount would be a better description, as that is what it is.

    Why this might seem a small detail, but I'm working on the principal of replacing it by moving to the other side of the motor where the AC was.

    The twisting forces the motor put on the mount are on a completely different plane over that side of the motor, so it will be interesting to see the difference re locating this mount makes.

    Jo

  7. #7
    bob
    bob is offline
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Skipton
    Posts
    2,524

    Default

    G'day timk,

    this animal of mistareno's can be fabricated from tube and nuts & bolts and a suitable bit of rubber or that fancy stuff that Jo uses - your local all brands bits shop will have a great selection.

    I had in mind to weld one up ages ago, one of those jobs that keeps getting postponed. Should have a total value of $5-$10 depending what's in the junk bin :-)

    If you are reinstalling an original part don't forget to whack the bracket back into shape otherwise you put unnecessary stress on the new bit of rubber. The bracket is the right shape when a rod passed through the two holes is at right angles to the bracket arms.

    cheers,
    Bob

  8. #8
    1000+ Posts jo proffi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    8,481

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bob View Post
    If you are reinstalling an original part don't forget to whack the bracket back into shape otherwise you put unnecessary stress on the new bit of rubber. The bracket is the right shape when a rod passed through the two holes is at right angles to the bracket arms.

    cheers,
    Bob
    What an unusual concept...reinstalling an OE part.

    If the bracket is bending, the mount needs a rethink of design to remove that flaw.
    Jo

  9. #9
    bob
    bob is offline
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Skipton
    Posts
    2,524

    Default

    G'day Jo,

    it's seems to be ok till the rubber breaks. Then the old lead foot whacks buggery out of one arm of the mount - there's a lot of force being generated at that point. Naturally, the more out of shape it gets the better the whack it gets cos the two arms are getting further apart.....

    Modified system only uses one arm. There is no damage cos of the positive restraint afforded by the mod - the old one allows the mount to flail about when the rubber breaks, no restraint.

    cheers,
    Bob

  10. #10
    Administrator
    mistareno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,926

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bob View Post
    G'day timk,

    this animal of mistareno's can be fabricated from tube and nuts & bolts and a suitable bit of rubber or that fancy stuff that Jo uses
    It was a long time ago (10+ years I think) but IIRC I just used a sway bar drop link (not from a Fuego as it had a smaller hole in the rubber) that I cut down and then cut a thread into.

    I used the slots on the original bracket that bolts to the chassis to adjust the height so the mount wasn't under load at idle/light loads and there was no noticeable increase in NVH.

    I think from memory that the hole in the rubber was a little bigger than the bolt, so it allowed slight movement up and down, but not much.

    The mount outlasted the car without any problems. The car was used in a few Motorkhanas and the like and could be best launched really with a bit off wheel spin and it had little or no noticeable axle tramp. How much was attributable to the mount I'm not sure, but retrospect would indicate alot.

    P.S - The badly sized flat washer is an optional extra

  11. #11
    1000+ Posts alan moore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ipswich, Queensland.
    Posts
    1,958

    Default

    Many years ago I filled the voids in the original front mount with Sikaflex polyurethane rubber compound that is used to glue in windscreens on most modern cars, and found that it didn't break in the next 3 years that I owned the car.

    I have seen R18 gearbox mounts fitted instead of the one sided affair that is used, but this required some exhaust work to clear the brackets.
    '56 Renault 4CV (16TS Power)
    '62 Renault Dauphine Gordini
    '82 Renault Fuego GTX
    '89 Renault Alpine GTA V6 Turbo
    '02 and '03 Renault Clios 1.4L
    '13 Renault Megane RS265 Trophee+

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •