Considering a clio sport.
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Default Considering a clio sport.

I'm thinking of buying a clio sport,
    I've been scoping out cars for a few months now & have decided a clio suits me best. I went for a test drive in one at a Renault dealer on the weekend. Absolutely loved it, so nice & easy to drive, beautiful handling & very responsive. The one I drove was an 03', it had 6000kms on it and was $29990 (on road). We didn't get off to a good start, the salesmen went to start it, idled roughly then conked out, did it twice (The salesmens face turned red raw).
    Has anybody experienced starting issues with theirs?? Once we got the thing going, all was good, no problems.

I got a trade-in value on my 405mi16. $800!
    I'd rather ghosty it off a cliff then sell it for 800 bux!

I spotted an 02' model for $25,200 on carsales.com, only has 27,000kms on it. flame red. Owners selling due to new baby.
    has anybody spotted a better deal?

I've heard people complaining about their clios feeling powerful one minute, then like a dogbox the next, due to some ECU fault. Is this true?

Thanks!

Jason

Advertisement

Hi Jason,

There has been a few complains about clios on this forum (go have a search) But mostly the guys love them and have compaired them to the next 205! So if you can get one in the right price range as they seem to be cheap at the moment then go for it. I'll take your car for a grand!!

Cheers Nick
    Auckland NZ -
    2000 Peugeot 406 Coupe, Dark Green.
    2001 Renault Clio Sport RS, Silver.

Brisbane Aus -
    1989 Peugeot 205 GTi, Light Blue.

the cold start problem is wide spread and commmon. Don't worry about it, apparantly elf oil fixes it, but you know it is not a fault as such. I have it since new.

other common problems include front suspension knocking (so far no real solution), but I haven't had that.

electric faults in instrument lights coming on (air bag, esp etc).