Renault Megane Odometer queery
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Haakon

Thread: Renault Megane Odometer queery

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morwell
    Posts
    88

    Default Renault Megane Odometer queery

    https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/det...5868860/?Cr=25

    This car is advertised on AF showing 78,916k and on Carsales showing 112,353k ?

    Advertisement


    F/S : Megane RS 225 Sport Cup, Blue, 2008 phase II

  2. #2
    1000+ Posts Kim Luck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Aus.
    Posts
    17,683

    Default

    So what is the little Carsales logo doing in the bottom right hand corner of the Aussiefrogs ad? Was it advertised on Carsales earlier?
    AF carsales.jpg
    Don't it always seem to go that you don't know what you've got 'til it's gone............

  3. #3
    1000+ Posts REN TIN TIN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Brisbane/Australia
    Posts
    2,024

    Default

    Someone appears to have recycled some photographs.
    But as soon as you start the car on the test drive you'll see the odometer so will see if the odometer has been wound back (okay, you have to do this electronically by reflashing the chip) or if the 112K is correct.
    The log books (if any) should soon tell if the 78k is correct.
    "I cannot help but notice that there is no problem between us that cannot be solved by your departure. Mark Twain"

  4. #4
    1000+ Posts renault8&10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,352

    Default

    Could they have changed the dash cluster or an ecu for some legitimate reason?
    On my 206, I believe if you change the ecu, the cluster “adopts” the mileage which is held on the ecu (or bsi whatever).
    KB


  5. #5
    1000+ Posts REN TIN TIN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Brisbane/Australia
    Posts
    2,024

    Default

    The odometer reading is stored on a EPROM chip in the instrument cluster, it's not on the ECU or UCH or any other of the myriad of computers in the car. The ODO reading stays with the odometer. So if you swap out the cluster the odometer reading is also swapped.
    If you power up the instrument cluster while it's out of the car it will show the odometer reading of the car from which it was removed.
    "I cannot help but notice that there is no problem between us that cannot be solved by your departure. Mark Twain"

  6. #6
    1000+ Posts Haakon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    canberra...
    Posts
    8,651

    Default

    A car that old with modifications and known to have been driven hard should be bought on condition and inspection alone - ignore the odometer, its meaningless either way with this car.
    Kenfuego likes this.
    I tried to drown my sorrows in alcohol, but the bastards learnt how to swim

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •