• 9 Post By Frans
  • 5 Post By R8philSA
  • 3 Post By Frans
  • 3 Post By Frans
  • 3 Post By Frans
  • 4 Post By Frans

Thread: A sad day.

Default A sad day.

Today was a sad day in my life. This thread is not about Renaults but about cars in general.
    I went to the celebration of a friend that Iíve only known for about 13 years. In March last year we were together on the NZ South Island Alpine Tour and enjoyed the week together travelling 3500km. Me and Ross in the R8 and Gavin and Miles, father and son, in the Lambo Countach. It was a week of fun and cars and jokes and laughs and today was his farewell.
    Gavin was a master in the restoration of motorcars. When someone bought a $1,000,000 Ferrari or any exotic car somewhere in the world, the car would go straight to them to be tidied up because nobody could do it like they did. Gavin was a cabinet maker by trade but that was only a drop in the bucket of what he could do. He would go and select leather and come back home, sit behind the sewing machine and make the most beautiful upholstery for some exotic Lambo, Ferrari or what ever.
    We were asked to attend with our classic cars if we had one and following are a few photos of those who did bring their cars along.

Advertisement

This is just to show a few of the guys present. I would like to show a few photos of their private collection as well but I might do that as an add-on to this thread as time allows.

Regards, Frans.
    R8 Dream, J-man, potentz and 6 others like this.
    Old enough to know better
    Young enough to do it anyway.

I only met Gavin the one time you all stayed over at my place on your Alpine Tour, but he was definitely a thorough gentleman. I hope Miles will carry on the family tradition.

Henry
    When I find my feet,,,,,,,,,,,,,,I'll know where I stand!