Renault Scenic -Bateman's Bay non start.
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 16 of 16
Like Tree11Likes
  • 1 Post By dimistyle
  • 3 Post By jo proffi
  • 3 Post By dalderton
  • 1 Post By jo proffi
  • 1 Post By Kim Luck
  • 1 Post By dalderton
  • 1 Post By robmac

Thread: Renault Scenic -Bateman's Bay non start.

  1. #1
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    699

    Default Renault Scenic -Bateman's Bay non start.

    The car dealer in in Bateman's Bay have a very nice Scenic in their bottom paddock, apparently traded in and now wont start.
    Auto, with electrical fault icon on the dash, turns over but wont start.
    I noticed today that the central locking doesn't work and wonder if it has been locked with the button on the key and the key battery gone flat after sitting for months?
    So the car is immobilised?
    Engine turns over and sounds fine on the cranking.

    Advertisement


    Could be this simple.

  2. #2
    1000+ Posts REN TIN TIN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Brisbane/Australia
    Posts
    1,837

    Default

    Yes, the failing to start could be the immobiliser.
    However, The key battery only operates the central locking circuit.
    The immobiliser chip in the key is passive and does not need power so a dead key battery won't affect the starting.
    More likely there is an issue with something in the car itself.
    "I cannot help but notice that there is no problem between us that cannot be solved by your departure."

  3. #3
    Moderator vivid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    parallel 43 south
    Posts
    1,792

    Default

    Rather than running blind, might be worth taking an OBDII dongle to it, and scan the error codes.


    If you don't know these can be purchased for a few bucks, search google for "OBD2/OBD-II ELM327".
    Android devices are easier and cheaper than iPhone versions, Android use bluetooth, iPhones need a wifi hotspot version of the ELM327 device.
    Powered by high grade French plutonium.

  4. #4
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    699

    Default

    We had a look at the car yesterday , 150klms there and got the usual lies from the dealer , level of difficulty and lack of cooperation seemed to much.
    We had a scanner with us but didn't examine the faults.
    Got back and went to work for the evening and had some thoughts.
    Would be handy for spares as the daughter at Uni has one.

    I replaced the ignition switch on my daughters car a a few years back but can't remember what i did?
    Or how i got around it.
    Just wondering if a "good " switch and key set would do it or switch must go with the BSI/ECU as a set.

    As i said , would be handy for spares even if i don't get it going.

  5. #5
    Simon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,080

    Default

    Offer the dealer a slab, as-is-where-is, they'd probably be happy to shift the sucker. Otherwise if you hop in there helping to get the thing started, diagnosis tools, etc, and it springs into life - the "starting" price stays firm, and you'd get charged for the dud battery they've installed in the meantime.

    If it is for spares, it won't matter if it is a runner or not - as long as you don't needs the bits that are stopping it starting.......
    1963 Renault R4 Van
    1964 Renault R4
    1967 Volkswagen 1300 Deluxe
    1969 Renault 8 Gordini 1300
    2005 Renaultsport Clio 182 Cup

  6. #6
    Fellow Frogger! dimistyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, QLD
    Posts
    668

    Default

    2 slabs if the panel work is very good, otherwise 1 slab.

    Sent from my SM-G900I using aussiefrogs mobile app
    Jingle Berry likes this.

  7. #7
    1000+ Posts jo proffi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    8,235

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dimistyle View Post
    2 slabs if the panel work is very good, otherwise 1 slab.
    2 slabs if there is a slab and a half in the boot, otherwise 2 six packs…MAX!!!!!

    Jo
    dimistyle, Jingle Berry and jaahn like this.

  8. #8
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mandurama
    Posts
    250

    Default

    It may be the immobilizer, I had a Clio that one day would not start. I finished up buying a Gadget from a site in UK that actually immobilizes the immobilizer. Plugs into the diagnostic plug and into the wiring on the immobilizer ring around the ignition switch and it does away with the need for the transponder in the key. After all who is going to steal a Scenic. Google immobilizer bypass for Renault Scenic.Not cheap (around $150 boy memory)but solves the problem.
    Worked for me Regards Dennis
    jaahn, Berridale and Jingle Berry like this.

  9. #9
    1000+ Posts Kim Luck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Aus.
    Posts
    16,895

    Default

    TDC Sensor? Mine went on holiday unexpectedly with no prior indication.................
    Don't it always seem to go that you don't know what you've got 'til it's gone............

  10. #10
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    699

    Default

    Kim,
    yes .
    Seniors memory.....
    I now remember we had that on my mates 306 and an earlier Scienic that picked up a bit of fluff on the TDC sensor.
    Did it show a fault on the dash?
    Coming back, the stuff you forget and wish to forget and can't.


    What is involved in the decoding process once you have connected the tool, two varieties on solders in to the key and the other plugs into the diagnostic ?
    Thanks

  11. #11
    1000+ Posts jo proffi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    8,235

    Default

    On the early Renaults , no tdc signal meant no tacho needle wobble during cranking
    Kim Luck likes this.

  12. #12
    1000+ Posts Kim Luck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Aus.
    Posts
    16,895

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Berridale View Post
    Kim,
    yes .
    Seniors memory.....
    I now remember we had that on my mates 306 and an earlier Scienic that picked up a bit of fluff on the TDC sensor.
    Did it show a fault on the dash?
    Coming back, the stuff you forget and wish to forget and can't.


    What is involved in the decoding process once you have connected the tool, two varieties on solders in to the key and the other plugs into the diagnostic ?
    Thanks
    From memory it might have shown the orange engine warning light but it was about 13 years ago!
    Berridale likes this.
    Don't it always seem to go that you don't know what you've got 'til it's gone............

  13. #13
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mandurama
    Posts
    250

    Default

    I assume this question was to me. It consists of a OBD plug that goes in the socket (under the ash tray on clio) and a wire goes from it to the immobilizer ring around the ignition switch where you remove a wire and replace it with the one from the plug. No damage to anything and can be removed and returned to standard if you are prepared to spend the money on new key and programming etc.
    Regards Dennis.
    Berridale likes this.

  14. #14
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    17,909

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kim Luck View Post
    TDC Sensor? Mine went on holiday unexpectedly with no prior indication.................
    And now you are retired, you should expect a visit from it soon.
    Mutual Respect is Contagious


  15. #15
    1000+ Posts Kim Luck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Aus.
    Posts
    16,895

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by robmac View Post
    And now you are retired, you should expect a visit from it soon.
    I think it was on long service leave.....
    Don't it always seem to go that you don't know what you've got 'til it's gone............

  16. #16
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    17,909

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kim Luck View Post
    I think it was on long service leave.....
    Perhaps say a prayer, that the TDC sensor on one of your current vehicles doesn't have the desire for LSL , retirement, or wishes to visit a distant relative.
    Berridale likes this.
    Mutual Respect is Contagious


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •