R16ts handbrake adjustment
  • Register
  • Help
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By COL
  • 1 Post By tresbon

Thread: R16ts handbrake adjustment

Icon5 R16ts handbrake adjustment

I am more than happy with my 16 except that I cannot get the h/brake to work. I have adjusted it as in the various workshop manuals without success. As it is a late model it has the automatic adjusters. I have had the drums off and there is plenty of lining, the drums are about 1 mm larger than original and the adjuster mechanism appears to be working.
    So, I am interested in any ideas, especially from someone who may have had this problem before.

Advertisement

Don

I'm no mechanic but have you had a look underneath for damaged parts or cable off. Even a stretched or broken cable. Or has the cable come off the hand lever. Just some thoughts....
    Cheers. John
    “Listen very carefully, I shall say this only once.”

COL

Could also be a seized cable, get someone to operate the hand brake while you watch the linkages underneath and also the mechanism with the brake drum removed.
    driven likes this.
    Regards Col

1973 Renault R12 Station Wagon
    1976 Renault R12 Station Wagon
    1995 Renault Laguna V6
    2002 Renault Laguna V6
    1973 Alpine A110

http://alpine-a110.weebly.com/

As above with Shoji.

Automatic adjusters only work on the foot brake, they do not work on the hand brake. The hand brake on a lot of cars operates the foot brake mechanism to keep the foot brake in adjustment.

Check that the cable ends are moving in unison, ie. when you pull one end the other moves. There is a long threaded end just in front of the LH rear suspension pivot area, that requires adjusting, if your cable is complete. Also check that the ends of the outer cable are actually located in their stop brackets. With all of this work, if the inner cable is in one piece, it would be worthwhile lubricating inside the outer cable with Castrol Chain Lube.

Ray
    Ray geckoeng