807-10 Fine Tuning - Help
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: 807-10 Fine Tuning - Help

Icon1 807-10 Fine Tuning - Help

Ok. I'm not a mechanic but have been trying to tweak this old engine for sometime, to run better at idle mostly.
    The facts and chores done:

Advertisement

• She's old and done 160,000 miles
    • 807-10 motor, 1312 on the firewall, manual 4 sp box
    • Replaced the spark plugs, points, capacitor, leads, rotor, distrib cap. double checked all correct types/model
    • Carby is cleaned and functioning well. leveled the bottom heat plate
    • New electric fuel pump
    • Air fuel filters replaced
    • All fuel pipes in good nick
    • Oil and filter replaced
    • No air leaks.
    • Oil breather pipes set up as should be and clean
    • No oil fumes from exhaust. a bit black in pipe
    • A little blow back
    • Choke cable reconditioned.
    • All original non replaceable parts still attached. No retro stuff
    • No air intake warming pipe used from exhaust manifold
    • Distributor working well and lubed
    • Set to 3 degree -+1 using strobe
    • Plugs set to 0.6mm and points set to 0.4mm
    • Webber 32 DIR carby idling set as should be by book tweaking it many times.
    • Runs and drives well
    • Exhaust just repaired
    • Starter motor repaired
    • The problem.....
    • Smells a little from un-burnt fuel. is this it? Carby not set up right?
    • Smells a little from gearbox oil on the exhaust pipe
    • Still runs a little rough when warm at idle
    • I think that's all...

Any help from the mechanics out there?? Or should I just stick to woodwork... John
    “Listen very carefully, I shall say this only once.” Cheers. John

COL

Hi Shoji

The smell of un-burnt petrol could be the float level is to high, or maybe the needle and seat leaks a bit.

The smell of burnt gearbox oil on the exhaust will be the left hand output shaft seal leaking gearbox oil and most likely the right hand one will leak as well.