• Register
  • Help
Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By jaahn
  • 2 Post By jaahn

Thread: 2015 Megane A/C hiccup

Default 2015 Megane A/C hiccup

Hi all,

Driving from Sydney to Brisbane yesterday and about 3 hours up the road the aircon suddenly stopped blowing air. We tried all sorts of combinations and permutations with the controls for about 10 minutes but without any luck. The fan was roaring away but nothing was happening. It was time for a stop anyway so we pulled into a rest area and I peered under the bonnet to see if a hose was missing/ruptured/disconnected/whatever or if anything obvious was visible. I am not a mechanic and the under bonnet area is a bit "busy" anyway, but all I could see that was the tiniest bit suspicious was that the alloy piping with the R134 label was wet, which caused me to think there may have been a leak somewhere, but it could have been condensation (?).

Anyway, back in the car after 20 minutes and the aircon kicked into life straightaway and has been working since.

I'm tempted to take the car to my dealer for a look but I'm guessing that if I can't replicate the problem it could be a waste of time. (Car has done about 16000 km's and was delivered 31/3)

Having just read Bullfrog's post re his 2005 Megane a/c, I know there is some real knowledge out there.....

Any advice would be appreciated.

Regards to all,

Advertisement

pj

suddenly stopped blowing air.
    So the fan stopped working ? Ie no air from any vents and blower motor not running.

I'd guess it's an electrical or fan motor issue rather than an aircon issue. I'd be looking at fuses, fuse contacts, connectors and wiring for signs of heating, which indicate a high resistance connection in the fan motor circuit.

I'm no expert on the Megane, but I know earlier model Renaults and Peugeots suffer fan speed control failure an high resistance connections around the ignition switch area. The symptoms fit a speed module problem.