• 1 Post By daffyduck
  • 2 Post By Simon
  • 1 Post By JohnW
  • 2 Post By DJ 750

Thread: Do I need to remove the gearbox

Fellow Frogger!

Default Do I need to remove the gearbox

Hi,

My Renault 10 gearbox is leaking oil through the drivers side half shaft. Do I need to remove the gear box to replace the oil seal at the universal joint? Does removing the differential carrier to replace the seal mean that the crown wheel and pinion backlash is changed?

Advertisement

Thanks

David

I've never done it before, but there are really no reasons why it can't be done, as the 'box is supported by the top mount. Though I can see getting it back together again would likely be fiddly as things will move.

If everything in the bearing carrier shells is the same (so the new seal is the same thickness as the old, the correct number of shims are in place, and the bearing track ring is properly pressed into place, there should not be too much variation. Whilst everything is apart though, and your hands are dirty, it may be worth doing the passenger side as well. As it will invariably start leaking in quick time if only one side is done.

According to Renault documentation, it takes 2.3 hours to do one diff seal, and 4 hours to do both sides from go to woah.
    1963 Renault R4 Van
    1964 Renault R4
    1967 Volkswagen 1300 Deluxe
    1969 Renault 8 Gordini 1300
    2002 Land Rover Defender Td5 130 - ex-CFA Region 4
    2005 Renaultsport Clio 182 Cup

Others may comment but I agree with Simon that it should be fine. The shims behind the bearing cone sit on a ledge with the seal behind that, so the basal half of the trunnion supports does have to come out of the gearbox casing. I've done nearly all that job in the past.

I'd allow more than 4 hours. Don't rush anything. The second side will be easier....