Clive needs help!
  • Help
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Clive needs help!

Default Clive needs help!

G'day froggers, Clive the R10 has been off the road for too long now and I really want to start having fun with the little rat bag again, so it's time to sort the brakes "again". The master cylinder was re kitted 5 years ago and is leaking again. Power Brakes have checked it out and the brass sleeve that was fitted before I bought the car (I've had it 11 years now) is worn out, so the choice is buy a new one from France for 72 euro, which I've never done before or have Clive's re-sleeved in stainless steel and re-kitted again for $252. I'm thinking I'll just bite the bullet and have it re-sleeved.
    Next problem is my sticking left front caliper. Both front calipers are stripped and one needs a new piston Options are to have the problem piston rechromed for $152 eek! or a new one from France for 45 euro and have to wait who knows how long to get it, or .... do any of you top chaps have a spare usable 38mm piston surplus to your requirements? ... beg, grovel ...

Advertisement
    cheers,

John

I don't have any spare Pistons, but I've bought lots of stuff from Ichard and mecaparts and the longest I've had to wait would be 3 weeks. 1-2 is more common, less than a week possible.

My comment is that the freight component from OS can often be as much as or more than the original cost so maybe power brakes may be then way to go.
    KB

Thanks KB, I was guessing it would be a few weeks, but had no idea on freight costs. I was trying to use these guys bretagneautoretro.fr but the postage didn't seem to change much when selecting Australia so I wasn't too confident with clicking Pay. I emailed them last week but haven't had a response yet.

The stainless sleeved master cylinder should be better than new in theory too I guess.
    cheers,

John

I'll have a good piston I think, I'll mount a search tonight and see what's In the toy c'bd.