Getting a Renault Floride back on the road...
  • Help
    Tadpole

Default Getting a Renault Floride back on the road...

Hello there,

Thanks for having me on your website. It's my first time here, although I have had my car for 7 years. The poor old girl has been mostly sitting under my carport following a restoration carried out by her previous owner and now needs some help to get back on the road. Apparently she was put over the pits in 2002 and is still licensed. She has been started up periodically and still runs OK, but has some problems with her ignition barrel (which needs replacing).

A friend of mine is very kindly helping me to get her back on the road with a service as well as flushing out the radiator and changing/cleaning hoses, changing her fuel lines and fresh fuel and bleeding the brakes and servicing the brakes as needed. The problem is, to do the latter we need to jack her up and .. I can't remember where the jack is supposed to be placed! I know this is very important and do not want to take any chances, so I would be very grateful if anybody could shed some light on this for me.

Frankie is a 1964 Floride S. I haven't seen too many of this model around and it seems to be a transition model between the Floride and the Caravelle. I have ordered a workshop manual (intereurope service manual 124 for R8 Floride/Caravelle from 1962) and I'm waiting for it to arrive. Hopefully this manual will be what I need- but if anybody can suggest a better text to follow then please feel free.

Thank you for your time.

Advertisement

Best regards,

Siobhan McNabb.