4cv axle seals
  • Help

Thread: 4cv axle seals

Icon5 4cv axle seals

I need some rear axle seals, a gear selector seal and a LH front upper control arm trailing bush for my 1955 Renault 4cv (750). Any good sources you know of? I'm pretty new to ownership of this great little car, so would appreciate being sent in the right direction.

Advertisement

Fellow Frogger!

Hi Rob,

Lots of good sources in France. However, there is a 19.6% GST and of course the freight. Never the less most part are available. The french models did not have wind up front windows only the export models.

Try the following sources:

http://www.web-pieces-retro.fr/PEEL/sitemap.php

http://www.ichard.fr/

http://www.melun-retro-passion.com/

In the US try
    http://www.renaultparts.us/

Hope this helps,

David

Fellow Frogger!

Rob, i have some parts from my 750 that i cant use, the car i have has the 3 stud wheels, if you are passing by this way, im only an hour from ballarat, you can see what i have and if you can use any of it
    Cheers Thierry

From the good 'ol parts catalogue here are a few dimensions of the various lip seals:

Selector shaft oil seal, there are two versions:
    Early, 8519103, 13 x 30 x 8
    Late, 8540228, 12 x 30 x 8

Inner rear axle seals:
    8521652, 36 x 54 x 7.5

Outer rear axle seals:
    8521653, 34 x 52 x 7.5
    1963 Renault R4 Van
    1964 Renault R4
    1967 Volkswagen 1300 Deluxe
    1969 Renault 8 Gordini 1300
    2002 Land Rover Defender Td5 130 - ex-CFA Region 4
    2005 Renaultsport Clio 182 Cup

1000+ Posts

Wouldn't the seals be available at your local bearing shop. Just quote the sizes Simon has given you.

Quote Originally Posted by Simon View Post
    From the good 'ol parts catalogue here are a few dimensions of the various lip seals:

Selector shaft oil seal, there are two versions:
    Early, 8519103, 13 x 30 x 8
    Late, 8540228, 12 x 30 x 8

Inner rear axle seals:
    8521652, 36 x 54 x 7.5

Outer rear axle seals: