RCZ Transmission issue
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1

    Default RCZ Transmission issue

    Hi Guys.Hoping someone can shed some light on an issue i have.Ive owned an RCZ for the last 6 months and have until now never had a problem.The other morning when i got in the car i put the car in drive and it immediately went to D3 and stayed there.I moved selector to Neutral and park which was ok but once in Drive it went straight to D3 and was surging.I hope this makes sense.Peugeot say they could not find anything wrong.Also the ASB ? light came on.Any ideas would be appreciated.

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Fellow Frogger! Doush_504's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cairo, Egypt
    Posts
    623

    Default

    IIRC anti-pollution fault causes the car to go to "limp" mode.
    Chadi

    1982 504 SR white manual sedan with A/C (257 000 Km)
    2012 308 1.6 VTi Vapor Grey manual H/B (35000 Km)
    1994 405 1.6 white manual sedan (208 000 Km)
    1992 605 SV24 (91 000 Km)
    2005 406 2.0L automatic (Replaced with a 2013 C5)
    1983 505 GR white manual sedan with A/C (170000 Km)

    All since new


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    brisbane
    Posts
    102

    Default

    make sure no one pressed the "snow" mode by mistake. I have heard this can do something similar to what you described.

  4. #4
    Fellow Frogger! Valentia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    380

    Default

    No idea on the auto side of RCZ as mine is manual sorry. Will see if the UK mob know anything about it though

  5. #5
    Good Sport danielsydney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    4,917

    Default

    Is is the AL4 again?

  6. #6
    Fellow Frogger! Doush_504's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cairo, Egypt
    Posts
    623

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danielsydney View Post
    Is is the AL4 again?
    Nop, it's the 6 speed auto.
    Chadi

    1982 504 SR white manual sedan with A/C (257 000 Km)
    2012 308 1.6 VTi Vapor Grey manual H/B (35000 Km)
    1994 405 1.6 white manual sedan (208 000 Km)
    1992 605 SV24 (91 000 Km)
    2005 406 2.0L automatic (Replaced with a 2013 C5)
    1983 505 GR white manual sedan with A/C (170000 Km)

    All since new


  7. #7
    1000+ Posts Capago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hornsby, NSW
    Posts
    1,012

    Default

    take it to your local dealer and get them to fault read it again. let the issue come and go a few times to make sure its logged good and proper. it will lock into 3rd gear if there is a fault with the gearbox, so it will appear sluggish. AM6 gearboxes are much more reliable than the old AL4 however they still have the occasional issue
    The wrong oil is better than no oil at all.

  8. #8
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    268

    Default

    If the fault is intermittent, the dealers will have a hard time trying to diagnose the problem, because fault codes are not always stored after you restart the car.

    If you present the car to them while it's faulty with warning messages flashing and whatnot, then they have a much better chance of obtaining a fault code which provides them something to work with - and don't forget to keep the car running!


    That's computers in cars for ya.

  9. #9
    UFO
    UFO is offline
    CitroŽn Tragic UFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Gerringong, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    9,732

    Default

    The computer systems will also lock the gearbox into limp home mode if there are other electrical problems. Have them check the main fuse box/panel near the battery (assuming it is near the battery in the RCZ).
    Craig K
    2009 C5 HDi Exclusive

  10. #10
    Fellow Frogger! Valentia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    380

    Default

    There is a fuse box in the glovebox. Not sure of under the hood. Will have to check it out

  11. #11
    UFO
    UFO is offline
    CitroŽn Tragic UFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Gerringong, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    9,732

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Valentia View Post
    There is a fuse box in the glovebox. Not sure of under the hood. Will have to check it out
    It's probably a great big thing near the battery full of fusible links and relays.
    Craig K
    2009 C5 HDi Exclusive

  12. #12
    the famous 18E pug206gti's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    11,055

    Icon6

    Quote Originally Posted by UFO View Post
    It's probably a great big thing near the battery full of fusible links and relays.
    G'day,
    I have one of them.
    regards,
    Les W.


    206 GTi 180
    the stealth Pug
    Did I do anything last night that suggested I was sane?








  13. #13
    UFO
    UFO is offline
    CitroŽn Tragic UFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Gerringong, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    9,732

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pug206gti View Post
    G'day,
    I have one of them.
    Yeah but what about your car?
    Craig K
    2009 C5 HDi Exclusive

  14. #14
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Avisford NSW
    Posts
    550

    Default Transmission

    Forget the dealers go to John McGraw Automatic trasmissions on Parramatta Rd,Croydon.
    (02)97451055

    He knows more about these transmissions than any dealer/ mechanic will ever learn.

    Robbo

  15. #15
    UFO
    UFO is offline
    CitroŽn Tragic UFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Gerringong, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    9,732

    Default

    Bet Paris to a paving stone that this problem is electrical.
    Craig K
    2009 C5 HDi Exclusive

  16. #16
    Fellow Frogger! young 4 old pug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Melbourne NSW
    Posts
    813

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Diesel_vert View Post
    If the fault is intermittent, the dealers will have a hard time trying to diagnose the problem, because fault codes are not always stored after you restart the car.
    If the tech knows what he is doing he can read between the lines and LISTEN to the customers complain to track the origin of the fault.

    Unfortunately with "computers" in cars these days most mechanics don't know what to do if there is no fault code for the problem described, and if there is a code, the replace what the code is about rather than the cause.

    Eg a dealer had a 1.6 206 with fault code misfire on cyl 4 plus cat converter failed fault. They were going to replace the coil, spark plugs, O2 sensors and the cat until the owner got a second opinion. The actual cause of the faults? There was a chunk missing out of no 4 exhaust valve.


    Oh and here's another thing you may want to know - we have a first year working at work, and we just found out that they don't teach in the syllabus anymore how to strip down and fix engines/gear boxes any more as its all done by "specialists" these days.

    Awesome.
    Current stash
    too many.

    Passed over stash
    lots.

  17. #17
    UFO
    UFO is offline
    CitroŽn Tragic UFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Gerringong, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    9,732

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by UFO View Post
    Bet Paris to a paving stone that this problem is electrical.
    I say this because the symptoms you are describing sound identical to those that some people with C5 Series 3 with the AM6 box have had happen. Replacement of the under-bonnet fuse box removes the problem. Chances are as they are both PSA products there will be similarity of parts.
    Craig K
    2009 C5 HDi Exclusive

  18. #18
    Should get a life 2353's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Brisvegas
    Posts
    4,049

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Valentia View Post
    No idea on the auto side of RCZ as mine is manual sorry. Will see if the UK mob know anything about it though
    Folks, its a manual. This one is definitely not an auto gearbox fault,
    Save the earth, it's the only planet with chocolate.

  19. #19
    the famous 18E pug206gti's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    11,055

    Icon6

    G'day,
    are all the tyres exactly the same? Heard this today. If one of the tyres is a different brand, it could have a different circumference. Only slightly, but enough to trick some of the electronics.
    regards,
    Les W.


    206 GTi 180
    the stealth Pug
    Did I do anything last night that suggested I was sane?








  20. #20
    UFO
    UFO is offline
    CitroŽn Tragic UFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Gerringong, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    9,732

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skyline View Post
    Hi Guys.Hoping someone can shed some light on an issue i have.Ive owned an RCZ for the last 6 months and have until now never had a problem.The other morning when i got in the car i put the car in drive and it immediately went to D3 and stayed there.I moved selector to Neutral and park which was ok but once in Drive it went straight to D3 and was surging.I hope this makes sense.Peugeot say they could not find anything wrong.Also the ASB ? light came on.Any ideas would be appreciated.
    Quote Originally Posted by 2353 View Post
    Folks, its a manual. This one is definitely not an auto gearbox fault,
    Ah, the OP told us with his description that it is an AUTOMATIC.
    Craig K
    2009 C5 HDi Exclusive

  21. #21
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    PORT MACQUARIE
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi I have heard that the RCZ had an issue with the alternator starting to turn backwords, this happened to mine and I had the alternator replaced and all is well now
    happy driving
    s and s

  22. #22
    1000+ Posts Capago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hornsby, NSW
    Posts
    1,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Diesel_vert View Post
    If the fault is intermittent, the dealers will have a hard time trying to diagnose the problem, because fault codes are not always stored after you restart the car.

    If you present the car to them while it's faulty with warning messages flashing and whatnot, then they have a much better chance of obtaining a fault code which provides them something to work with - and don't forget to keep the car running!


    That's computers in cars for ya.
    All faults are stored in the BSI along with the mileage they occurred, disappeared and how many times its occurred. Will not be logged if there is a fault with another system, such as the BSI itself, it will not log faults because its stuffed.
    The wrong oil is better than no oil at all.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •