205 power upgrade/turbo options?
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Tadpole

Default 205 power upgrade/turbo options?

Hi fellas I have always admired the Peugeot road and race cars and now I own a 92 205 si hatch with a refreshed engine.
    Iím just wondering what is the most effective way to get decent power from these cars.
    I have no experience with Peugeotís nor know anybody who does, is it possible to turbo-charge the current 1.6 without too much hassle? Can the fuel systems cope with the extra strain?
    If not is there any specific performance engine that can be sourced which can be built to achieve decent results? I would be looking in the vicinity of around 240-250 crank hp for around 5-6k

Advertisement

I have heard of an engine found in mi16 405s which apparently can take abit of power can be used.
    Whatís the max reliable hp one of these engines can achieve using stock internals? Can these engines be turbocharged for that sort of power without causing drastic reliability issues?
    Any help on this issue would be great , Iím very curious as itís a fantastic little car but could use a little more power.

You won't get your desired hp for your budget. A gti6 engine conversion is probably your best bet with that budget.

Also an Si isn't the best platform for that kind of power. I don't need to say suspension work will be needed

Chris
    Last edited by DjB8V; 24th January 2012 at 07:48 AM.

205GTI - 8 valve, single cam coolness.

Christopher, who put together 'single cam' and 'coolness' in the same sentence'?

Si man, you likely have a great little car which you could squeeze extra power from but if you are talking that kind of power upgrade, you need to really start with a GTI as suggested above and expect the need to upgrade the suspension, brakes, cage, seats, seat mounts etc etc to match the power. A 205 with even 180hp is a VERY fast tin can.