Hi, New Member Couple of Questions on my pug.
  • Register
  • Help

Default Hi, New Member Couple of Questions on my pug.

Hello All,
    I just recently purchase my first french car, little 03 peugeot 206 Gti 180. I believe this car was looked after by a peugeot enthusiast, hence why I ended up with custom plates on the car. The previous owner, could have come from this website for all I know. I purchase the car at a dealership in Newcastle. I'm a big fan of hot hatchbacks and did some work experience at the Newcastle peugeot dealership when I was a school student many many years ago. That pretty much sealed the deal to owning one of these special little cars, justs taken a long time to get around to owning one.

I got a small problem at the moment, I notice my temperature gauge went close to 100 degrees C and then went back to 90, and I still not sure what is the normal temp for these cars to run at. I'm worried at the moment that the gauge is a bit faulty. The Engine is not using up any coolant which is a good thing, but I dunno if the thermostat is on its way out. The car has only covered 66000 kms. Does anyone else here find there pug doing the same thing? Does the car shut itself down when it reaches close to 100. I don't want to do damage to the little thing. I love this car, and doing a head seems like a very expensive exercise that I don't want to go through.

Here are some pics of my car. I hope to be involved in your car club and hopefully meet and greet other french car enthusiast. Thanks Iain.

Advertisement
    Last edited by Gti-180; 24th October 2011 at 02:31 PM.

Nice looking example mate. If its any consolation my 180 does the same thing. From what I gather its quite common. Get it checked by a professional though, it cant hurt. I find that turning on the Climate control often brings the water temp down a bit. A quick google will show you many other people that experienced the same thing.