HELP!! 505 V6 Emits black smoke on the exhaust pipe.
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Default HELP!! 505 V6 Emits black smoke on the exhaust pipe.

Hi all,

My 505 V6 5spd manual bought recently in France has just entered my country Nigeria. But its still more than 700kms away from me. They couldnt drive it to my location yet because the car is seriously emitting black smokes from the exhaust pipe. So what could be the problem? Is it the airflow meter, oxygen sensor, catalytic converter or what?

Demannu, Graham, Salman & others help!!

Ikenna.

Advertisement

Hi Ikenna,
    black smoke usually shouldn't worry you because in the end it is a matter of bad fuel/air mixture but it's blue smoke that should upset you .

I would advise that (if possible) do not let anyone drive it but you, you have a knowledge with Peugeots and if you go get it yourself you may be able to determine what's wrong with it.
    Unfortunately since I have no prior experience with V6 505s I cannot help you.
    I hope it will turn out to be something very simple like spark plugs.
    Keep us updated please and I wish you the best of luck.
    Chadi

1982 504 SR white manual sedan with A/C (257 000 Km)
    2012 308 1.6 VTi Vapor Grey manual H/B (35000 Km)
    1994 405 1.6 white manual sedan (208 000 Km)
    1992 605 SV24 (91 000 Km)
    2005 406 2.0L automatic (Replaced with a 2013 C5)
    1983 505 GR white manual sedan with A/C (170000 Km)

All since new

I was told that they have the fuel pressure regulator and Mass Air flow sensor (AirFlow meter) replaced today, yet the problem hasnt gone. What else could be the culprit here?

Ikenna.
    Last edited by Ikenna351; 15th January 2011 at 06:02 AM.

Fellow Frogger!

Quote Originally Posted by Ikenna351 View Post
    I was told that they have the fuel pressure regulator and Mass Air flow sensor (AirFlow meter) replaced today, yet the problem hasnt gone. What else could be the culprit here?

Ikenna.