405 Mi16
  • Register
  • Help

Thread: 405 Mi16

Default 405 Mi16

Hey fellas,
    I'm new to aussiefrogs and Im intersted in an '91 Mi16. I'm gonna do a engine rebuild on it for my HSC major work as my current project car got stolen from me by some numnuts. Is there anything that i should be wary off in the Mi16's, like common rust spots or defects? Your help is most appreciated..
    Cheers

Advertisement

mine has been pretty good to me... nothing too serious has gone wrong. high kms isnt the best, but since your rebuilding thats no problem

interior rattles is common... also a common problem is the driver will have a big grin on his face after driving.
    2013 Megane RS 265 Trophy

not to mention a fierce loyaly that is installed after about 2 weeks of ownership..

prepare to never be the same again

Works: 2003 YV Commodore (That is Cecil to you)
    Playing: R12, SuperPos, thinks It's a race car and Sunny the R12 Lego set.
    Previous: SuperGrumpy fuel spitting 504ti(ish), SuperComfortable 505 STI, SuperDoper carried my groceries Mi16, Choo Choo'd Volvo S40
    Wanted Will hoard 12/15/17 Junk.

"More and more of less and less" - Marina Abramović

Mi16s don't rust. Unless they have been involed in an accident and been poorly repaired, rust simply isn't an issue. Key areas of the car are galvanised at the factory.
    Scotty

Melbourne - Dandenong Ranges

1956 Peugeot 403 - 'Francois' - resto project

1969 Peugeot 504 - 'Pascal' - daily driver project

1970 Peugeot 404 Utility - 'Brutus' - resto project

1978 Peugeot 604 - as yet unnamed - V6 on straight LPG

1987 Peugeot 505 - as yet unnamed - project car

1999 Peugeot 406 Coupé - 'Chloe' - 5 speed manual

2011 Peugeot 3008 XTE HDi - 'Zoe' - hatchback on steroids

2014 Peugeot RCZ - 'Remy'

1999 Range Rover 4.6 HSE - 'Grover' - tow car

Doh Scott beat me to it. Like he said Mi16's don't rust. If you have an Mi16 that’s rusting your in big trouble. Again, prepare to grin like an idiot ever time you drive it.