407: opinions sought
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 Last
    Tadpole

Default 407: opinions sought

Dear Pugmeisters,

I am a non Pug driver and am considering a 407 for my next car, among many other options. I currently have a salary sacrifice fleet lease on a Ford Territory TX AWD. We have one young child (13 months) and may need to accommodate another in a year or two. The Territory is great to drive and we love the 4WD, but we find it a bit big around the city, and it's very thirsty.

Advertisement

I've always dreamed about having a 405 or 406. The wife dropped into the local Pug dealer the other day and was quite taken by the 407. While I desire the car, I would like opinions on some aspects of the car. Our priorities for a new car would be:

1. safety
    2. reliability
    3. internal space
    4. economy

Price is also a constraint. The car seems to come up well for safety, with airbags all over the place, all the right brake technologies etc. What about reliability? I notice pugs don't always score well in user surveys there. My neighbour had a Renault and it was an absolute shocker with electrical problems. Is this likely to be an issue in the 407? Also, what would lead me to buy this car over, say, a Subaru Liberty at the same price?

Personaly speaking as a pug fanatic. I would take the liberty everytime over the 407, aslong as it was the GT 2.0L t or the g3 B4. The general consensus is that the 407 has not followed in the pedigree of the 405, 406. There have been a few post's lately about the safety of the 407. All this said, the 407 is still a very nice car. Hopefully some 407 drivers can be of more assistance.

+ the new liberty has it all over the 407 in the looks department.
    2006 Peugeot 206 Xt
    1991 Toyota mx83 grande 1jzgte