S1 to S3 Rear Lights. Big Difference
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    1000+ Posts cam85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bondi
    Posts
    3,378

    Default S1 to S3 Rear Lights. Big Difference

    With all the stuff i bought over from the UK, i got some later spec rear lights for my 205. Being smart i forgot to get the wiring for them...BUT, i looked on the www.205gti.com site and have just finished wiring them up. Had to cut a few wires and re route them. It took about 2 hours but im realy happy with the results.

    There is one thing though. I reckon the brake light on the S3 cluster is really crap, so i have wired the parking lights up as the brake lights, and the brake as the parking. But they dont seem to be bright once changed over. Would this be because of the extra power they may be sapping??

    Cam

    Advertisement
    94 205 Gti Classic #9
    91 205 Si
    87 205 GTi Race Car
    http://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/res...-race-car.html

  2. #2
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Liverpool NSW
    Posts
    317

    Default

    is the wattage the same? perhaps if u have a clamp meter u can see the amps it draws.
    Puggy.

  3. #3
    al
    al is offline
    1000+ Posts al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    2,012

    Default

    My lights are sitting in the garage waiting for me to fit them... I am terrified of wiring though, so it had better be easy.
    405 Mi16 - Sold - Now back
    205 Mi16
    505 GTi

  4. #4
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Liverpool NSW
    Posts
    317

    Default

    ok i dont remember where it was (& im not at home ATM) but im very sure theres a guide on how to swap from S1 to S3, with/out changing the wiring. i'll try n look for it n post.
    Puggy.

  5. #5
    1000+ Posts cam85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bondi
    Posts
    3,378

    Default

    The is no way to change the lights form S1 to S3 unless you have a loom from an S3 car. Its actually fairly easy. Go to www.205gti.com and there is an explanation there. It looks confusing but its not that hard. Just make sure you have about 10 male and female wire connectors and youll be fine.

    Cam
    94 205 Gti Classic #9
    91 205 Si
    87 205 GTi Race Car
    http://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/res...-race-car.html

  6. #6
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Liverpool NSW
    Posts
    317

    Default

    a little auto-elec know-how does help
    Puggy.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •