help a peugeot neubie out
  • Register
  • Help
    Tadpole

help a peugeot neubie out

Hi,

I just bought a 1978 504 today (first car!), its a silver, 3 speed auto with a cool black vinyl top. The car drives great and the overall paint and interior is great. Just a few questions, )sorry, I am very new to this, chose a Pug 504 over a hatchback cos I feel that it has more soul than a plastic bubble with wheels)

-When servicing and tuning it for the first time, whats should I look out for?

Advertisement

-Is there any major potential faults with a 78 504 Pug that I would look out for?

-Any decent Pug mechanic in Brisbane that won't charge an arm and a leg?

thanks in advance

Mike

Welcome to the board and pug ownership, I'm sure you'll enjoy both!

I can't tell you anything about the 504, but I would recommend Euroserve in Ross St at Newstead for servicing. I can't comment on them being the cheapest, but in my experience they don't do anything that doesn't need doing (unlike the dealer from whom I purchased the car).

penelope_s

What part of Brisbane are you in?

If you're convenient to Nundah then there's no question of where you should go...

First thing is to drain the radiator, flush it with clean water very thoroughly, including undoing the drain plug on the block below the exhaust manifold (that might need prodding once you get the plug out to dislodge rust scale blocking it...) and then refill with a very good corrosion inhibitor.

Note that I said you should do this yourself? I wouldn't trust anyone else to do this for me, and it's hardly difficult.

Nulon might be a good inhibitor to use...

Ray's suggestion of making sure that the cooling system is clean and filled with fersh coolant is a good one. The combination of an alloy cylinder head with a cast iron block easily leads to corrosion if the coolant isn't regularly changed.