407 vs japanese competitors
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Default 407 vs japanese competitors

Just wanted to get some thoughts from anyone who,s compared the 407 with the Honda Euro. My parents are looking in this class at the moment and being the pug loyalist I,m pushing for the 407. However as a realist I,m finding it hard to justify the extra 7k for the 2.2 ste petrol 4spd tip auto version of the 407. Especially when its missing the sunroof, zenon lights ,5spd tip auto ,0.2 ltrs of engine capacity(torque still similar however) and 2 speakers? The 407 has reverse sensors,auto wipers,folding mirrors, looks superior in my opinion and drives well (at least in v6 format). Drove the 4sp tip auto 2.0 ltr diesel today and wasn,t that impressed, ride was poor and engine still felt pretty "diesel" to me. Having said that I have no diesel experience to compare it too and I,m currently driving a 180, but I somehow expected a bit more. Still to drive the 2.2 petrol 4 sp tip auto and V6 again.The V6 at 60k drive away is well specked but 15k more than the Euro essentially for 0.6 ltrs of engine capacity and one extra gear. Would like to hear some thoughts on the dollars equation especially in favor of the 407 as this is the emotional favourite, but is it slightly overpriced in the Australian market as I,ve not seen that many on the road.

Advertisement

My mate and his wife were having a similar comparison few months back.
    They decided on the Euro luxury for the extra features, although the looks of the 407 never left their minds after they saw it in flesh.
    He reckoned that the 407 definetly looked great in their new house' garage, but she had the final say .

In Australia: ‘05 206 GTi 180 and '97 406 v6
    In Lebanon: ‘09 C3 Exclusive

All in Silver

Previously '01 206 GTi

Go the Euro.... Can't be beaten for the price.

Budding Architect ???? pugrambo's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by pastpugdriver
    Go the Euro.... Can't be beaten for the price.