306 Xsi Rookie!! Help!
  • Register
  • Help
    Tadpole

Icon10 306 Xsi Rookie!! Help!

Aloha all Peugeot peepz downunder and up!
    I am very new in terms of the Euro car scene but have been invloved with modified Jap cars all my life, previously owned R33 Skyline, Civic type R, Mx-5, Mirage turbo... Nuff said, I am seeking some knowleadge on a newly purchased 96 306 XSI! I am sure the great peepz here are able to help!

1. What are my engine specs? I know it's a 2 litre manual, is it a 8 V or 16V?
    DOHC or SOHC?
    2. Type of Air filter? and is that easy to replace? it looks like it's situated on the engine, not sure how to open that black box.
    3. The gear knob has a strange pattern, am I able to find a sporty knob from places like "super cheap Auto"or "Repco"?

4. One thing I am disgust about is the exhaust sound/ or lack of, so I am looking at replacing the back box or the center exhaust, which one would you recommend to get rid of to improve the sound and performance? A Koby exhaust should do the job?

5. It is a very quick car and I am liking it, and thinking abour lowering it, I understand suspension does not exist in the rear, what do I do with those?

Thanks a million....
    From a ROOKIE PUGGY

Advertisement

Welcome to AussieFrogs!

'96 Model XSi's were the N3 body and had a 8v engine. During 97 they swapped to the N5 body and a 16v. Check the 306 Timeline Sticky - great thread for those baffled by the array of 306's around.

You can take the top of the "Black Box" filter easy enough with the right Torx wrenchs. The filter element is just sitting inside there obviously. Do a search for "306 air" and you should see a lot of threads regarding changing the air supply to these cars but most seem to agree that while a better filter element might give a bit better performance, most other mods give you a nice induction noise but not much else...an area of debate though.