'84 505STi
  • Register
  • Help

Thread: '84 505STi

'84 505STi

Can anyone explain why my '84 505STi with a normal 3spd auto (converted from 504 4Spd manual)is so frisky?? I recently drove an 505GTi with 3spd and it was gutless. Admitedly very quiet, powersteering was lighter and in all round better condition.

I love the 505 and would love to find out why it goes so well. Also any info about how I may create a unique 505 would be greatly appreciated. I was thinking new exhaust and induction kit of some sort (stop laughing), larger/better disc's, an allround everything do up.

I have little knowledge of mechanics besides
    the general that I have picked up in tha magical green 505 book by Haynes.

Advertisement

Thanks to all

J.Cross

[ 05 January 2002: Message edited by: crosspug ]</p>
    1989 BX16Valve

"Resting" 1983 505 STi

The reason the 2.2 3 speed automatic STi goes better than the 3 speed automatic GTi, is that they use different camshafts. This causes the torque peak in the STi to be around 1000rpm lower in the rev range than the GTi. Automatics work better when the torque is lower in the rev range, thus the STi auto goes better. Engines with little low down torque tend to get bogged down by autos. I've heard that when you wind the GTi auto out to over 130km/h they can actually go pretty well (but it's not really useful is it?).

If you're interested, I'm in the process of making up a website dealing with modifying 505s and 504s. The address for the website is available in my member profile or on the aussiefrogs links page.

Regards,
    Dave McBean
    NZ Fleet
    1976 504 Ti
    1984 205 GT twin carb
    1991 205 SI 1.6GTI motor
    1994 106 Xsi
    1996 Mondeo V6
    Aus Fleet
    1955 203C
    1997 Civic Cxi (great allrounder- revy, flexible, nimble, comfortable , economical, simple and durable )

I thought the STi also had a shorter diff than the GTi.

'92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4