405 1990 4 wheel drive rear suspension bouncing
  • Register
  • Help
    Tadpole

Icon4 405 1990 4 wheel drive rear suspension bouncing

i have a problem in the rear end of my 1990 405, it bounces like a trampoline when it hits the slightest bump on the road....my thoughts are that the shocks are stuffed and when i went under the car to have a look...i was surprised to see that there are no visable shocks.....just something that looks like a bottle jack lying on its side.....so then i realised that this car has hydrolic suspension..( i bought this car two weeks ago as a run about so im new to owning a pug and dont know anything about them) i checked that the levelling is working and goes up and down by adjusting the ride height valve, no prob there so all i can think of is that the dampening part isnt working...my thoughts are that these two bottle jack looking things has to be replaced or repaired....i have been quoted here in New Zealand $330 plus tax each for heavy duty ones from peugeot and have to wait three weeks for them to arrive. and was also quoted $335 plus tax to get the existing ones rebuilt( strange that new heavy duty ones are cheaper than a rebuild!!!)....so was wondering if there was another alternative that some Pug lover out there could advise me on...cheers

Advertisement
    Last edited by scottcmb; 9th January 2005 at 01:20 AM.

Budding Architect ???? pugrambo's Avatar

it could be that the sphere/s need regassing

otrher than that i have no idea but seeing as it is a citroen rear end in the car i would be checking that out first if the spheres in the 4WD 405's are the type that can be regassed
    3 x '78 604 SL

1 x 2018 3008

1 x 2000 Citroen XM,

1 x '98 306 GTi6 sadly sold

1 x secret project

1 x '98 406 STDT troop carrier and i don't care if it stinks, i don't sniff it's arse Death by wank tank

1 x '99 406SV 5spd wagon, time to burn more fuel

1 x 1994 605 SV3.0

Tadpole