505 spring rates?
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Default 505 spring rates?

Hey Guys,

My first post on the forums.

Advertisement

I am in the process of fitting 505 front struts to my 504 rally car and want to know whether the 505 standard springs will be stiffer than the 504 injected springs.

As i understand it the injected spring rate is 67 lbs/in. How does this compare with the standard 505 spring rates?

Also fitting the swaybar, all new joints, bushes and bumpstops, LIP gas tech strut inserts and the steering rack.

Any help and advice is appreciated.

Thanks, Justin.

I think the 504 springs are a bit stiffer than standard 505 springs but without the idetifying colors I can't be shore. I have a factory workshop maual that gives spring rate according to marked color but mostly these have worn off. I have been running a 504 as a rally car for about 8 months now and fitted the car with a 505 diesel front-end including the power steering.The car sat too high with these springs so initially one full turn was cut from them (one end) but have since removed another turn from the other end. This gives a firm ride with good turn in on the gravel but still not satisfied with this set- up.
    The springs I will trying next when I can obtain them will be 505 STI one's, these are firmer wirh a lower ride height. Actualy if I can get the complete (505STI) Struts, Control Arms & Caster Bars I will fit these to get more negative camber. It's presently got about 1.5deg neg and would like to get about 4deg.
    LynCliff

FRONT SPRINGS

505 carby and early STI:

1 blue stripe or 1 yellow and 1 white strip are 86.7 mm/100daN
    which translates to approx 66lbs/in

1 green or 1 yellow stripe are 85mm/100daN
    translates to approx 67lbs/in

505 GTI and late STI (84 onwards with negative camber struts):

2 red or 2 blue stripes 66.3mm/daN
    which tranlsates to approx 86lbs/in

504 and 505 diesel front springs