504 water pump
  • Register
  • Help

Thread: 504 water pump

Tadpole

Default 504 water pump

Hi guys,

Advertisement

Just picking your brains on the approx cost of a new water pump? I'm just getting the 504 back on the road after a period of abandonment! Company cars can make you lazy! And also the fan is glued in place and thus is continously on, should I look at replacing the lot, themostat and all?

Rgds

C

Hi Kitty,

I am only a beginner but I do know that the thermostaic fan is a problem on a 504 after all these years. I have one that has been tech screwed on to keep the fan going and another where I am thinking of getting the glue out as well. (Will get it tested before I do that). Anyway the jist of it is that I wouldn't be too worried about the thermostatic fan not working.

Where is Coledale?

Peter J.
    PJ

Tadpole

Thanks Peter,
    It's has been working so far glued in place so I think I'll just leave it be. Coledale's on the NSW south coast, just above Wollongong. Rust n' salt country!

Cheers

C

Hi again Kitty,

European Auto Imports have a water pump for $92.00 (Late 504) which gives you some idea.

Peter J.
    PJ

Default Magnetic Clutch /504 Water Pump

Quote Originally Posted by kitty510
    Hi guys,

Just picking your brains on the approx cost of a new water pump? I'm just getting the 504 back on the road after a period of abandonment! Company cars can make you lazy! And also the fan is glued in place and thus is continously on, should I look at replacing the lot, themostat and all?

Rgds

C
    Hi Kitty,

The 504 has a magnetic clutch, as I recall the air gap (ie the distance between the magnet and armature when not powered) has to be adjusted.
    There are some cap screws with lock nuts which protrude thru the fan. You should loosen the locknuts and adjust the screws - I think the thickness of a normal business card would be about correct. Make sure it is even all the way around and fan spins.