Ipod installation in 206 gti. How??
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    2

    Default Ipod installation in 206 gti. How??

    I have just bought a new 20gig Ipod and I know there are FM transmitters and car kits out there already but I don't want to use FM.

    I was wondering if it would be possible to connect the ipod via the CD stacker option. I don't have a CD stacker already so there is a wasted button on the head unit and it would also be better sound quality over FM.

    Advertisement


    Is it as easy as finding some RCA jacks on the head unit or is it a bit more complicated than that.

  2. #2
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,635

    Default

    The Denison ICE-Link'll do it (for a large sum of $$)
    It has an OEM fitment to the Pug Multiplexed CD Changer system.
    http://www.dension.com/main.php?pageid=50&topid=42

    Derek

  3. #3
    1000+ Posts Shobbz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,284

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DeKa
    The Denison ICE-Link'll do it (for a large sum of $$)
    It has an OEM fitment to the Pug Multiplexed CD Changer system.
    http://www.dension.com/main.php?pageid=50&topid=42

    Derek
    The belekin?? ipod transmitter sucks. Has a range of less than 10 cm.

    It sucks. Tried on numerous radios still sucks.

    shobbz
    Previous
    2005 407 ST Exec
    1975 504 GL

  4. #4
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Had a look at the ICE unit. It's bloody expensive. From $399 installation extra. Jeez. That's how much the ipod cost me
    http://www.thecarkitcompany.com.au/

    I'm looking for the cheap solution with good quality sound. I suppose I can do without actually controlling the ipod from the head unit.

    I would probably just buy a power adaptor and then somehow plug in the audio through the CD-stacker.

    Am I going to have to splice some wires? Does anyone know how?

  5. #5
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,635

    Default

    You need to "fool" the headunit into thinking there's a CD stacker plugged in. I know for many brands of headunits you can buy a device to fool it for you, with RCA plugs. The one for my car is $100 ish.

    I use a Griffin iTrip. It's very good. The CCrane FM transmitter from http://www.ccrane.com is the best.

    Derek.

  6. #6
    XTC
    XTC is offline
    VIC: a fine driving state XTC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Location Location Location
    Posts
    8,566

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DeKa
    You need to "fool" the headunit into thinking there's a CD stacker plugged in.
    For the RD3 is this practially impossible - you'd think it'd be simple $30 part, the RCA plugs are there, but until the headunit gets some sorta signal that says "Hi I'm a legit CD stacker" and the BSI is set by the dealer that a CD stacker is installed .. you wan't get jack.

    - XTC -
    You're not fooling everyone, or did you forget? .......




    '02 Peugeot 206 GTi / '07 VW Golf GTI
    Now this is a .sig
    AF'd in PER, MEL, SYD, ADL, CBR

  7. #7
    Banned orestes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Sunshine Coast
    Posts
    4,520

    Default

    if you had a headunit with RCA ins it would be pretty simple, i beleive alpine also offers a range of head units that are ipod compatible(though i'm not sure of pricng and availablity in australia), and installing one of these head units on a muxed 206 may lead to a lot of headaches and loss of things such as your stalk and your display .

  8. #8
    1000+ Posts tekkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,516

    Default

    FM transmitter (possibly inline antenna unit) is the easiest option.

    limitation would the frequency range of the FM transmitters seems to be around thd 20~15kHz mark (MP3 goes upto 18kHz , CD goes past 20kHz and vinyl records go past that again). Average signal to noise (around 70db) for the better units (most amplifiers should do at least >90).

    But the ease of installation and the fact that the car is hardly the perfect place to listen to music for audiophiles in us the FM transmitters are really hard to get past.
    Have a look at units like these on ebay.
    .
    1300cc's of jap buzzbox delivered the times below.

    EC 1:54.6 , Wakefield 1:13.15 , OP (short) 52.00 , OP GP 1:24.40


  9. #9
    XTC
    XTC is offline
    VIC: a fine driving state XTC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Location Location Location
    Posts
    8,566

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tekkie
    limitation would the frequency range of the FM transmitters seems to be around thd 20~15kHz mark (MP3 goes upto 18kHz , CD goes past 20kHz and vinyl records go past that again).
    Yeah, but vinyl in the car is a bitch

    - XTC -

    Unless it's laser vinyl (yes there special laser players that read vinyl .. they are used by libraries to preserve recordings).
    You're not fooling everyone, or did you forget? .......




    '02 Peugeot 206 GTi / '07 VW Golf GTI
    Now this is a .sig
    AF'd in PER, MEL, SYD, ADL, CBR

  10. #10
    1000+ Posts tekkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,516

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by XTC206
    Yeah, but vinyl in the car is a bitch

    - XTC -

    Unless it's laser vinyl (yes there special laser players that read vinyl .. they are used by libraries to preserve recordings).
    leather looks a bit more classy. (and skips tracks less)
    .
    1300cc's of jap buzzbox delivered the times below.

    EC 1:54.6 , Wakefield 1:13.15 , OP (short) 52.00 , OP GP 1:24.40


  11. #11
    who? when? huh? GTI124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gordon, NSW
    Posts
    4,527

    Default

    If you don't mind changing the deck, I believe Alpine have a released an i-pod compatible deck.

  12. #12
    Banned orestes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Sunshine Coast
    Posts
    4,520

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by orestes
    i beleive alpine also offers a range of head units that are ipod compatible(though i'm not sure of pricng and availablity in australia)
    Quote Originally Posted by GTI124
    If you don't mind changing the deck, I believe Alpine have a released an i-pod compatible deck.
    yes they have

  13. #13
    Fellow Frogger! blu180's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    mosman
    Posts
    238

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shobbz
    The belekin?? ipod transmitter sucks. Has a range of less than 10 cm.

    It sucks. Tried on numerous radios still sucks.

    shobbz
    Something must be wrong with yours... my friends had her's in her car travelling up to 50m away I still got perfect reception.

    They're ***n awesome!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •