405(UK)cooling fans
  • Register
  • Help
    Tadpole

Default 405(UK)cooling fans

Hi all - just found your forum, i liked it so much i joined.
    only one of the two cooling fans operate, i have interchanged the relays but it makes no difference, are they wired so that both fans come on together or does one operate before the other, a few days ago the car did overheat and that was when i noticed only one fan working, is there any inline fuses to each fan, the fuse (F5 15a) on the main board is ok, thermostst has been changed, rad has been flushed and i am not losing coolant, any help would be greatly appreciated, sorry if this doen't make sense, its my first time, be gentle with a pom

Advertisement

rqms

I'm fairly sure one is designed to come on at 90C and the other at like 100C. I got to hear both at full glory when my cooling system was shot.

Thank you for not using twenty retarded smilies in your post.

Fellow Frogger!

Both fans are ment to come on together at the same speed.

There are 2 speeds, slow & fast.

It sounds like you have a blown fuse or a duff fan motor.

Tadpole

thanks for the replies, as for the fuses are there any other fuses apart from F5 on main board
    once again many thanks

rqms

If your car has the later type Bitron controller, the main fuses are located in the black box behind the l.h. headlight. The originals were 30 amps, the local dealer told me that Peugeot recommended replacing these with 40 amp fuses, as the 30 amp ones continually blew.

Terry
    405 dt

Fellow Frogger!

My 1995 405 with twin fans & aircon is still on the factory fitted 30 amp fuses.

It hasnt blown one yet.

hi to RQMS Try searching this forum for info on 405 cooling fans. There was an excellent discussion with some knowledgeable chappies recently on this subject which I forgot to bookmark.. Cheers Greg

Tadpole