Which to buy ? 306s16 or 205 GTi ?
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Tadpole

Default Which to buy ? 306s16 or 205 GTi ?

Hello all,

Advertisement

I am a serious buyer looking for a good hot hatch in the 10k range and have settled on either the legendary 205GTi or the slightly more refined 306 s16.

I need some expert Pug advice!

What would be the better purchase ?

My research thus far has indicated I can probably afford either a low kms 205 [S2 or S3 only] or a higher kms 306. The car cannot have a sunroof [don't trust em for leaks or safety - long story]. I want a relatively unmolested vehicle - ie no extreme fart can or OTT suspension mods [a pug doesn't really need it anyhow].

I've read a few older posts on this subject, but perhaps there is more to be said ...

Thanks in advance champs !

Eating through my P6000s around Bell St Maccas!!

I have driven a S3 205GTi for the past 6 months or so and a 306GTi for the past 3 weeks. Not saying I am an expert, not in the least, I can only go by my experiences with both cars. (I'm not going to say that the S16 and the GTi6 are the same cars, but for the sake of argument.....)

It depends what you are after. I find the 205 a 'strap yourself in and hang on' kinda ride. Beautiful steering and handing. tends to be a bit rattley as Peugeot really stripped out alot of the weight out of the car. I get a sore back and hearing loss if I drive the thing for long periods (I'm no pensioner by the way!!). They are getting a bit long in the tooth these days, but the only problems so far encountered have been an after market exhaust that the genius before put on it and WELDED it to the chassis (expletive!). I love driving it though as it just GOES!!