307 HDI radio needs to be replaced. Anyone got one?
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
Results 1 to 25 of 26
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: 307 HDI radio needs to be replaced. Anyone got one?

  1. #1
    Fellow Frogger! Steve Turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    126

    Default 307 HDI radio needs to be replaced. Anyone got one?

    I'm just back from the auto electrician. Apart from fixing my alternator, I asked him to take a look at my radio, which screams interference at me on both bands. I thought that the aerial might have a loose connection, but unfortunately, not so.
    He said the problem is in the radio itself and according to a mate of his he rang for advice, it can't be fixed. To make matters worse, Clarion (the manufacturer) has gone belly up.
    Which leads me to wonder whether anyone out there in Pugland has a 307 they're wrecking and which has a working radio in it they'd like to move on. Please, no guessing that it worked once and might still work. If you're sure it works and want to sell it, please message me.
    Thanks,
    Steve

    Advertisement
    Currently:
    06 Peugeot 307 HDI Wagon
    61 Renault 4CV Gordini (Kermit)

  2. #2
    1000+ Posts cav91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Sunbury, VIC
    Posts
    2,267

    Default

    There's 3 different stereos in the Australian spec cars. Need more information

    Sent from my SM-G930F using aussiefrogs mobile app
    406 D8 V6 manual

  3. #3
    Fellow Frogger! dimistyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, QLD
    Posts
    847

    Default

    You will also need someone with Planet or PP2000 software to match the radio to the BSI otherwise you will get a constant beeping as part of the security system.

    Sent from my SM-G900I using aussiefrogs mobile app

  4. #4
    Fellow Frogger! Steve Turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Thanks (sigh). Yet another problem to sort out, but I appreciate the input.
    Currently:
    06 Peugeot 307 HDI Wagon
    61 Renault 4CV Gordini (Kermit)

  5. #5
    1000+ Posts dmccurtayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Newcastle/ central coast
    Posts
    1,645

    Default

    Get a blue tooth kit from eBay with the genuine rd45 radio and a display


    Garage C5 X7 3008 XTE
    Gone but not forgotten 206 GTI 180 306 XR SED 405 MI16 x2 xzara VTS 406 SV 206 XT Berlingo 2011 (best car ever) 306 HDI 307 XSE HDI touring
    Fix it right the first time

  6. #6
    Fellow Frogger! Steve Turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Thanks for the information. I have been warned that getting the radio going might mean that the on-screen display won't work. Staaaf me! I think I'll just go back to driving my 4CV.
    Currently:
    06 Peugeot 307 HDI Wagon
    61 Renault 4CV Gordini (Kermit)

  7. #7
    Fellow Frogger! Steve Turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    126

    Default

    But when you check the other replies, will that work?
    Currently:
    06 Peugeot 307 HDI Wagon
    61 Renault 4CV Gordini (Kermit)

  8. #8
    1000+ Posts dmccurtayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Newcastle/ central coast
    Posts
    1,645

    Default

    Yep they can precode to your vin


    Garage C5 X7 3008 XTE
    Gone but not forgotten 206 GTI 180 306 XR SED 405 MI16 x2 xzara VTS 406 SV 206 XT Berlingo 2011 (best car ever) 306 HDI 307 XSE HDI touring
    Fix it right the first time

  9. #9
    1000+ Posts dmccurtayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Newcastle/ central coast
    Posts
    1,645

    Default

    https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F322256098501


    Garage C5 X7 3008 XTE
    Gone but not forgotten 206 GTI 180 306 XR SED 405 MI16 x2 xzara VTS 406 SV 206 XT Berlingo 2011 (best car ever) 306 HDI 307 XSE HDI touring
    Fix it right the first time

  10. #10
    Fellow Frogger! Steve Turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Thanks. Looks like the answer I needed. I wasn't aware of the need to precode it. Thank goodness for these forums and the input people such as yourself give to them. Much appreciated.
    Currently:
    06 Peugeot 307 HDI Wagon
    61 Renault 4CV Gordini (Kermit)

  11. #11
    Fellow Frogger! Steve Turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    126

    Default

    I've just bought on Ebay the two items I need, so at this point I don't need any further help. Thanks again.
    Currently:
    06 Peugeot 307 HDI Wagon
    61 Renault 4CV Gordini (Kermit)

  12. #12
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    Please tell how this ended up, very interested and agree, the brains trust is just that, the brains!
    87 S1 205 GTI / GTI6 powered a project underway
    306 convertible (gti6 candidate)
    307 HDi wagon
    407 HDi wagon

  13. #13
    Fellow Frogger! Steve Turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    126

    Default 307 HDI radio needs to be replaced. Anyone got one?

    Quote Originally Posted by Matthew View Post
    Please tell how this ended up, very interested and agree, the brains trust is just that, the brains!
    Thanks for all the help, which was invaluable. I picked up a second hand (but later model) radio and heads up display from the one Ebay dealer, who then requested my VIN. Once he had that, he got the blue tooth components of each to shake hands, and shipped to me. They work like a charm. Very pleased.
    FIVEDOOR likes this.
    Currently:
    06 Peugeot 307 HDI Wagon
    61 Renault 4CV Gordini (Kermit)

  14. #14
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    Very nice, which ebay person please? The one above and that LCD fits in a 307, it looks like a 407 display but they are most likely the same form factor,
    87 S1 205 GTI / GTI6 powered a project underway
    306 convertible (gti6 candidate)
    307 HDi wagon
    407 HDi wagon

  15. #15
    Fellow Frogger! Steve Turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Matthew View Post
    Very nice, which ebay person please? The one above and that LCD fits in a 307, it looks like a 407 display but they are most likely the same form factor,
    The Ebay seller is aa.cars2012 They are in Box Hill, Victoria. I found them to be very helpful, and I got my items the next day. Highly recommended.
    hypermiler likes this.
    Currently:
    06 Peugeot 307 HDI Wagon
    61 Renault 4CV Gordini (Kermit)

  16. #16
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    OK will copy you then, I have seen them over the years but not done anything with them.
    87 S1 205 GTI / GTI6 powered a project underway
    306 convertible (gti6 candidate)
    307 HDi wagon
    407 HDi wagon

  17. #17
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    Better question how did you fit the display, my radio is fine but an MP3 unit would be good too! Allowing Ipod bluetooth etc very nice.
    87 S1 205 GTI / GTI6 powered a project underway
    306 convertible (gti6 candidate)
    307 HDi wagon
    407 HDi wagon

  18. #18
    Fellow Frogger! Steve Turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Matthew View Post
    Better question how did you fit the display, my radio is fine but an MP3 unit would be good too! Allowing Ipod bluetooth etc very nice.
    I didn't fit it. I took it to an auto electrician.
    Currently:
    06 Peugeot 307 HDI Wagon
    61 Renault 4CV Gordini (Kermit)

  19. #19
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    NO issue but does the display fit in the 307? Interested as its a 407 unit by the looks and I have one of them too!
    87 S1 205 GTI / GTI6 powered a project underway
    306 convertible (gti6 candidate)
    307 HDi wagon
    407 HDi wagon

  20. #20
    1000+ Posts dmccurtayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Newcastle/ central coast
    Posts
    1,645

    Default

    Yes itís exactly the same unit you just need to configure ac etc


    Garage C5 X7 3008 XTE
    Gone but not forgotten 206 GTI 180 306 XR SED 405 MI16 x2 xzara VTS 406 SV 206 XT Berlingo 2011 (best car ever) 306 HDI 307 XSE HDI touring
    Fix it right the first time

  21. #21
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    Yes that was what i was thinking, either the canbus communications is there to support this from the stereo or it does it natively?
    87 S1 205 GTI / GTI6 powered a project underway
    306 convertible (gti6 candidate)
    307 HDi wagon
    407 HDi wagon

  22. #22
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    Steve, how did the display end up showing air con temperature? Any other issues in its display of vehicle parameters, eg fuel consumption etc?

    The 407 has individual temp controls, the 307 is a single control at least in my 2004 T5, but yours is later T6 model.
    87 S1 205 GTI / GTI6 powered a project underway
    306 convertible (gti6 candidate)
    307 HDi wagon
    407 HDi wagon

  23. #23
    1000+ Posts dmccurtayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Newcastle/ central coast
    Posts
    1,645

    Default

    Only on a 407 you need to configure the MFD to show the air conditioner info all these things are adjustable via diagbox


    Garage C5 X7 3008 XTE
    Gone but not forgotten 206 GTI 180 306 XR SED 405 MI16 x2 xzara VTS 406 SV 206 XT Berlingo 2011 (best car ever) 306 HDI 307 XSE HDI touring
    Fix it right the first time

  24. #24
    Fellow Frogger! Steve Turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Matthew View Post
    Steve, how did the display end up showing air con temperature? Any other issues in its display of vehicle parameters, eg fuel consumption etc?

    The 407 has individual temp controls, the 307 is a single control at least in my 2004 T5, but yours is later T6 model.
    Hi Matthew,
    No issues in my 307HDI whatsoever. Everything works as it should.
    Currently:
    06 Peugeot 307 HDI Wagon
    61 Renault 4CV Gordini (Kermit)

  25. #25
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    Thank you both very much, time to get Diagbox going and or get a Delphi 150e unit going to manage both of these!

    I have an RD45 unit downstairs and would love to use this so will discuss with the vendor! Otherwise figure how to use it in my 306 without the display without a BSI to talk to.
    87 S1 205 GTI / GTI6 powered a project underway
    306 convertible (gti6 candidate)
    307 HDi wagon
    407 HDi wagon

Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •