205 GTI on MS1 troubles
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By schlitzaugen

Thread: 205 GTI on MS1 troubles

  1. #1
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    22

    Default 205 GTI on MS1 troubles

    Hi guys how are we all 👍

    Just so you know, I'm not a mechanic by any means!!

    So has anyone any experience running Megasquirt 1 on their little pug? I got my car a couple of year's back as part of a midlife crisis and it's well and truly given me grey hairs!! The plan was to buy it, so a little resto work and enjoy it......2 year's later it's still stuck in the garage......why you might ask.....

    It's a phase 1.5 '89 1.9 gti UK import. The plan was, with my mechanic, to drop the engine, have a look and replace what needed to be replaced. Then we noticed the ECU and a couple of odd things. It is running MS1 or Megasquirt 1. The car started fine, drove alright, bit rough on idle but that was probably due to bad earthing and possibly the fact the person that installed it tapped into the old wiring loom.

    Long story short, we got the correct wiring loom and replaced the old. All the engine is back in and hey presto......won't start!!

    Advertisement


    What's the problem?? Car just keeps ticking over. First off no fuel getting to the manifold, got a new fuel pump, replaced, fuel pumping, but not sure if it's got enough pressure, done bridge the relay pins and got fuel upto the rail (took a while), bolt back on.....nothing, just keeps ticking over. Spray a bit 'degreaser' in front of the minfold air inlet and the thing wants to start. This tells me it's a fuel problem?? Next......injectors?? Turn ignition on the injectors pulse only once, apparently these are meant to be continuously pulsing??

    The injectors are dry.
    The immobilization device is off.

    My mechanic was kind of lost and he owned one of these back in the UK.

    Any advice other than 'replace the loom and ecu back to original' would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks guys

  2. #2
    1000+ Posts schlitzaugen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    loneliness capital of the world
    Posts
    9,044

    Default

    I don't know anything about MS1, but if it run before re-wiring, I would start there and check the wiring again.

    When working on electrics, drawing everything on a piece of paper clearly is the way to go, especially for the future repair man (or owner).

    Also, how did you decide it is a fuel problem? Checked spark?

    Fuel pressure is not hard to check (or shouldn't be) for a mechanic workshop. So is the pump. These things need not be second guessed. Even I can do it and I am not a mechanic, nor do I have a workshop.

    Once this is cleared, I am afraid you will have to look into the MS1 and see if it is doing its job. I think MS still supports the model, have a look on their website and the many forums on it.

    But first things first. Get your pencils out and inspect the wiring job closely drawing up everything as you go. I would be surprised if you didn't find the problem.
    Last edited by schlitzaugen; 27th January 2019 at 04:07 PM.
    Roland likes this.
    ACHTUNG ALLES LOOKENPEEPERS

    Das computermachine is nicht fur gefingerpoken und mittengrabben. Ist easy schnappen der springenwerk, blowenfusen und poppencorken mit spitssparken. Ist nicht fur gewerken bei das dummkopfen. Das rubbernecken sightseeren keepen hands in das pockets-relaxen und watch das blinkenlights.

  3. #3
    1000+ Posts PeterT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Castle Hill, Sydney
    Posts
    7,487

    Default

    1. Hook up a laptop and check if the ECU is getting an input.

    '92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

  4. #4
    VIP Sponsor
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    When you turn on the ignition the fuel pump will run for a few seconds. Get this happening first. You can download the tuning program for Ms1 from the ms website. You wil need a serial to USB adaptor if your computer doesn't have a serial port.

  5. #5
    VIP Sponsor
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    The fuel pump output from the ms is an earth, so the other coil connection of the relay should go to volts. I can lend you another ms1.

  6. #6
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sandringham/Victoria
    Posts
    469

    Default

    With the engine being cranked over by the starter motor or if it is running, the injectors should be pulsed appropriately... altogether.

    Check that the tachometric relay is operating correctly in the new wiring scheme.

    I'd also suggest sticking a fuel pressure gauge onto the end of the fuel rail so you readily see that appropriate pressure is being maintained.

    Does sound like your replacement wiring is missing a specific requirement for the ECU to be happy to get the ball rolling.

  7. #7
    VIP Sponsor
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    9,278

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ng850 View Post
    With the engine being cranked over by the starter motor or if it is running, the injectors should be pulsed appropriately... altogether.

    Check that the tachometric relay is operating correctly in the new wiring scheme.

    I'd also suggest sticking a fuel pressure gauge onto the end of the fuel rail so you readily see that appropriate pressure is being maintained.

    Does sound like your replacement wiring is missing a specific requirement for the ECU to be happy to get the ball rolling.
    No Tachometric relay needed,the MS1 has its own fuel pump relay output. If you can't hear the fuel pump run for 3 seconds on switch on then carefully check the wiring from the fuel pump output of the MS1 through the relay and then to the pump.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •