307 at 106k miles, tranny oil change or not?
  • Register
  • Help
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By dcc236
  • 2 Post By N5GTi6
  • 1 Post By pugwash

Thread: 307 at 106k miles, tranny oil change or not?

Tadpole

Default 307 at 106k miles, tranny oil change or not?

Hi newbie here from the UK. Just want to ask, I have a Peugeot 307 1.6v petrol 2007 auto. It has the AL4 "sealed for life
    ". Got it last yr at 97k miles, now has 104k miles. Im torn about having the transmission oil changed or not as garages and also forums say differently. Some say to change it some say dont as it may damage the tranny more. I dont know for sure if the transmission oil has been changed by the previous owner. Would want the car to last at least about 125k miles. No flush for sure, but would transmission oil change be really detrimental at this age or not? As of the moment the tranny still shifts fine. I know this has been asked before here but I would really want the nail on the coffin on my question. Thanks!

Advertisement

Fellow Frogger!

Yes, do it!
    I did a gearbox oil change in our 2006 Pug 307 cc 2L with the same gearbox earlier this year. Totally changed the way the car drove and quality of gear changes improved 200%.

I learnt long ago after many years of Audi, VW and BMW ownership: "Sealed for Life" = term of the warranty period.
    BIGRR likes this.

Tadpole

Cheers for the reply buddy. So it doesnt hurt the transmission even if it might not have been changed before? As there are some varying infos about mileage and if auto gearbox service has been done. Would want to change it if its safe prior to it hitting 105k or 106k miles if safe

Fellow Frogger!