replacing O2 sensor on 306 - what a difference
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By ng850

Thread: replacing O2 sensor on 306 - what a difference

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    117

    Default replacing O2 sensor on 306 - what a difference

    after the fiasco we had tracking down a split fuel pump seal, I figured after 16 yrs of age to replace all the sensors on my daughter's 2001 Rallye 306

    she's been complaining that fuel economy has dropped and starting hasn't been as sharp as it used to be

    what a difference replacing the O2 sensor (we did it last) has made - the start is sharp, fuel economy has improved very markedly, idles as if tracking with a metronome and just drives a little more sweetly and effortlessly

    some say wait until the sensor really deteriorates and throws up a fault - the good people at Euroserve say that on this model once it goes in their experience the car becomes virtually un-driveable and thought I was intuitive getting it replaced when I did

    worth doing and if the exhaust is showing the signs of soot then I'd recommend just doing it

    edit - car's done 135,000kms
    also recall reading somwhere that O2 sensors have a usable life of 100,000kms and should be replaced

    Advertisement
    Last edited by alittlewino; 2nd November 2017 at 05:01 PM.

  2. #2
    Fellow Frogger! blahblah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    190

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alittlewino View Post
    after the fiasco we had tracking down a split fuel pump seal, I figured after 16 yrs of age to replace all the sensors on my daughter's 2001 Rallye 306

    she's been complaining that fuel economy has dropped and starting hasn't been as sharp as it used to be

    what a difference replacing the O2 sensor (we did it last) has made - the start is sharp, fuel economy has improved very markedly, idles as if tracking with a metronome and just drives a little more sweetly and effortlessly

    some say wait until the sensor really deteriorates and throws up a fault - the good people at Euroserve say that on this model once it goes in their experience the car becomes virtually un-driveable and thought I was intuitive getting it replaced when I did

    worth doing and if the exhaust is showing the signs of soot then I'd recommend just doing it

    edit - car's done 135,000kms
    also recall reading somwhere that O2 sensors have a usable life of 100,000kms and should be replaced
    My cars done 207k km so Iíll add it to the list. I donít think theyíre outrageously expensive either...




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    1000+ Posts PeterT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Castle Hill, Sydney
    Posts
    7,036

    Default

    I need to do mine. Do you have a part number?

    '92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    117

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterT View Post
    I need to do mine. Do you have a part number?
    this is the one that I bought from Spareto but it was bundled with some Merc brake parts so postage wasn't an issue

    https://spareto.com/products/a2c59513176z-lambda-sensor

  5. #5
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sandringham/Victoria
    Posts
    404

    Default

    Well you have a choice with the Bosch sensors of going for the more expensive specific version with the correct length cable/connector or the cheaper generic version '0 258 986 506' which provides a connection system to your old cable. This generic sensor is the same 4 wire one used on the DKZ 205 GTi engines and also on the 405 XU engined models.

    NTK also sell sensors with the correct cables/connectors for specific engine models.

    Obviously if you are buying a specific version then you need to be sure of the engine model/year etc.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    117

    Default

    the one I purchased was simply unplug old from loom connector and plug in new i.e. a direct replacement

  7. #7
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sandringham/Victoria
    Posts
    404

    Default

    Yep, that's the easiest way to do it.

    The main diff between the various actual sensors is the number of wires, the heater wattage and whether it's a narrow or wide band.

    The Jetronic DFZ used a 3 wire and the later Motronic engines of the period used 4 wire. The extra wire was just a seperate ground for the signal.
    Roland likes this.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •