• Register
  • Help
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By pug206gti
  • 1 Post By dj4llen

Thread: ARGH! Peugeot 206 GTI Failed NSW Safety Inspection

Fellow Frogger!

Default ARGH! Peugeot 206 GTI Failed NSW Safety Inspection

Poor little Peugeot 206 GTI is currently unregistered and therefore off the road.

It's an old car and it's had a rough life prior to me, but I've been driving it happily for over 6 months without any safety issues - once I replaced the dodgy tyres.

Failed on three counts:

1. Secure the battery
    2. Power steering leak
    3. LHS front strut 'moving'

1. You may recall previously that I had discovered that some loon had failed to re-fit all the radiator supports to the car. Replaced those. But it seems the battery tray is missing some bolts (or perhaps a little bracket) meaning the battery box is loose as it's sitting on a tray that's not secured to the body firming enough.

Does anyone know what size bolts the battery tray uses to secure itself to the LHS of the wheel well?

2. I knew about the power steering leak but for some unknown reason it left a little puddle (for the first time) while the mechanic was inspecting the car. Fail. I'll have to replace the rubber seals now. No biggie.

3. The strut has worked it's way loose (my fault playing with the strut top nut). I will have to remove and reseat the spring and strut to the car. Again, no biggie, but I will need a few new lock nuts.

The battery tray is the most annoying. I wonder what else is missing on the car?

Anyway, if anyone can easily find out the bolts I need to secure the battery tray (hoping it doesn't need a special Peugeot bracket part to fix it) that would be wonderful!!!

Advertisement

head to picknpayless they got plenty of 307s and 206s there these days with the battery tray most likely there.

that said i know that the head is 10mm so it's probably an m3-4 or something.