Peugeot 206 speedo odometer, recover previous reading?
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By driven
  • 1 Post By cav91
  • 1 Post By Capago
  • 1 Post By addo

Thread: Peugeot 206 speedo odometer, recover previous reading?

  1. #1
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    784

    Default Peugeot 206 speedo odometer, recover previous reading?

    The speedo needle stopped functioning but the odometer and all the other instruments still work.

    I changed the speedo for another working speedo from a higher mileage car and it defaulted to the highest reading.

    Advertisement


    Is there a way of returning to the actual odometer reading for that car , the lower value must be stored somewhere?

  2. #2
    the famous 18E pug206gti's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    11,055

    Icon6

    G'day,
    it might be stored in the instrument itself. You could try using a GPS speedo, either a separate unit or an app on most 'phones, and keep the original as an odo.
    regards,
    Les W.


    206 GTi 180
    the stealth Pug
    Did I do anything last night that suggested I was sane?








  3. #3
    1000+ Posts driven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,491

    Default

    Everyone would be interested in this fix, if you find one
    Berridale likes this.

  4. #4
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    19,211

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Berridale View Post
    The speedo needle stopped functioning but the odometer and all the other instruments still work.

    I changed the speedo for another working speedo from a higher mileage car and it defaulted to the highest reading.

    Is there a way of returning to the actual odometer reading for that car , the lower value must be stored somewhere?
    Many of these speedos store the elapsed distance reading in a EEProm on the speedo circuit board. The only way to change the odo reading is to reprogramme the prom or swap the one out on the old speedo. Not easy for a soldered chip.
    The less one interacts with rude, ignorant, critical and argumentative members. The more peaceful life becomes.

  5. #5
    1000+ Posts cav91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Romsey, VIC
    Posts
    2,336

    Default

    I believe it's to late now. Once you've put the higher reading speedo in thats where its staying. The bsi will always remember the higher value. So if you put your original back in it'll still say the higher value. You won't be able to swap bits over to make it read the lower one now.

    Maybe try a Lexia\peugeot planet scan tool, it might be able to do something.
    Berridale likes this.
    2011 Renault Koleos manual petrol, yes it's boring, but not as boring as:
    2017 Renault Koleos auto

  6. #6
    1000+ Posts Haakon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    canberra...
    Posts
    8,777

    Default

    As per above - its too late. Sorry... They're designed to stop people clocking cars and it cant be undone.

    Only way is to get another one with a lower than your original reading and the bsi will "update" it.

  7. #7
    1000+ Posts cav91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Romsey, VIC
    Posts
    2,336

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Haakon View Post
    As per above - its too late. Sorry... They're designed to stop people clocking cars and it cant be undone.

    Only way is to get another one with a lower than your original reading and the bsi will "update" it.
    Wouldn't the bsi just make the new cluster read the current high reading? The only way to lower the kms on these is a bsi, ecu, key chip and cluster all from a lower km car.
    2011 Renault Koleos manual petrol, yes it's boring, but not as boring as:
    2017 Renault Koleos auto

  8. #8
    1000+ Posts Capago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hornsby, NSW
    Posts
    1,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cav91 View Post
    Wouldn't the bsi just make the new cluster read the current high reading? The only way to lower the kms on these is a bsi, ecu, key chip and cluster all from a lower km car.

    the only way is to replace BSI, instrument panel, engine ecu (all new parts by the way). resets to zero. not exactly a cheap exercise
    Berridale likes this.
    The wrong oil is better than no oil at all.

  9. #9
    Contented Peugeot Driver addo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Don't remind me!
    Posts
    16,609

    Default

    It can be done by third party tools, send it away if the mob who advertise dash instrumentation repairs in Seven Hills can't help.

    Look for mileage correction services on EBay UK.
    Berridale likes this.

  10. #10
    Fellow Frogger! Wintermute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    866

    Default

    I remember seeing something on the news a year or so ago, used car lots changing speedo readings, they were paying some guy and he would do it in a matter of minutes. It's all computerized so I guess there is a hack. Makes buying a second hand car a bit of a minefield though!!

    Tony.
    306 S16 1995 black
    Morris 1100 1965 green

  11. #11
    the famous 18E pug206gti's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    11,055

    Icon6

    G'day,
    when I replaced the speedo on the bike, I advised the dealer what mileage [K'age] I required, and that was arranged by the factory. Do Peugeot offer the same service ?
    regards,
    Les W.


    206 GTi 180
    the stealth Pug
    Did I do anything last night that suggested I was sane?








  12. #12
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    784

    Default

    I did read something about it defaulting to the higher value.

    Later i put the old speedo back in and the odo' value on that had changed to the higher value of the new speedo.
    Bugger!

    Addo ,
    you send all the bits away and it comes back with the value you want but it's not cheap. About $150-$200.
    It's not a big deal for me but annoying when you sell the car.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •